Once you descide to start a startup.

in #business6 years ago

There are practices that we can commit to do right from the start and as we continue:

1.Believe in making and keeping commitments

  • these commitments can be to ourself our mentor or just to interested parties.
  • this gives us some accountability and the ability to report back regularly on progress.
  • these commitments act as stepping stones along the path of progress.

2.Types of commitments:

  • foundational - basics like ethics, time management etc.
  • business development - specifically focused on what next to maintain and grow our business
  • skills development - we should constantly be improving our skills across all areas

3.Accept setbacks

  • tough days or weeks will come
  • accept that every failure is valuable
  • learn from these experiences
  • modify your business plan
  • keep striving to move forward
  • keep records for later use and reflection
Sort:  

accept that every failure is valuable

As long as failure is an outcome, not the objective!

I see a lot of people in the startup space glorifying failure... as if to say that you must fail before becoming successful.

This is simply not the case, and I worry about the people who shrug failure off, as if to say it doesn't matter, without actually learning from the experience, and modifying their behaviour accordingly.

Another great post, thanks for sharing!

I'm now in "accept setbacks" phase and it's tough to re boost our courage in the time when you failed in your first ever business but as every thing happens for a reason so I'm trying to believe that this experience will sure give me some benefits for future plans and I Hope I would be able to choose some better options and strategies for my work/business. Your daily articles are really a treasure of good advice for me. Thanks my friend.

Yup, those are the basic things you will have to adopt to be successful in business, like Edison said, invention (or success in this case) is 1% inspiration and 99% perspiration.

your first point is curical to not only starting a business but in life too. No one else will believe in me if I do not believe in myself. In the real world people will not give hand outs. Have faith and follow through completing tasks to the best of your abilities so that you can achieve success in this world. Thanks.

yes i need to find a tech software person in Sydney Australia to help me develop a ICO ... Starting to organize my own goals and time line could help ..i followed you and upvoted and look forward to friendship -David

there is a site where you can make your own coin but I can't recall what it is at the moment. I think it was "waves" or something.

Mark Suster has solid advice on this topic in his post "Is it time for you to earn or learn?" The crux of his point is, take an honest assessment of where you stand and make a conscious decision whether right now you:

Learn: go into absorption mode on someone else's dime and build experience participating a startup where someone else bears the financial risk & reward.
Earn: you've already obtained adequate experience to take the gamble yourself so now put your money where your mouth is and go do it.

I have always wanted to do what Mark suggested but often times when you do not have any skin in the game the owners keep the numbers to themselves and I just work as I go. What I have learned is what work I produce will earn me more versus what earns me less. Hopefully one day I can independently and self sufficiently do all this on my own. Thanks.

yes commitments help us to achieve our future goal but I don't know the types of commitments that you have discussed here @sme like foundational,business development,skills development.I will work on it.and yes I am agree with you we also have to ready for the failures and learn from our experiences and always look forward.Thanks to share with us business strategy.

Its good and valuable article. As you mentioned the commitment is the basis of any project or start of any business. The leadership must have capability for team work. So when good team work then the success is must. Other quality mentioned is to accept failure if it comes. We should learn from failure and then not be disheartened then success is on your door step. Nice ideas you shared; they are helpful for the steemit community. Thanks for sharing the post.

keep records for later use and reflection. part I thought I did not do. how does it benefit?

In the modern environment, I would add "networking" to one of the key commitments. Cheers! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63571.79
ETH 3068.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97