You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Celebrating Good Business: 👌 Latest from Ledger! 👍

in #business5 years ago

Certainly @abitcoinskeptic. Happy to do it. We can certainly all learn from each other. As I can from your response. Thank you for this additional detail.

"I think the point of them adding Bluetooth is to make it easy for cellphone users. Personally, I'd rather use a software wallet with a couple of hundred bucks in it."

We certainly are in agreement here. I don’t even want to be able to carry out crypto transactions on my phone. For the reasons you cite and more. I simply don’t trust it. Certainly not yet anyway. People generally (at least here in America …) are far too often ready to settle for the “Easy Button” solution. To almost any problem. While I don’t mind convenience myself, I am leery of the “cost” …

”I'm just worried someone is going to be monitoring public addresses used at a local business. If someone comes in and makes a purchase for 0.01 btc but has 100 BTC in their wallet …”

… just like you point out in your response here. Raises a great fundamental question. About the use of any “digital asset” for direct purchases …

To close, for now, I would imagine there is a story behind your account name. And I see you are in Korea. I welcome a link to learn more!

Sort:  

I think in general people are too trusting. One of the biggest problems banks and internet portals face is how to make something security without making it annoying or inconvenient. That's why I think it's better not to give anyone that trust, even if the security is rock solid, all your eggs in one basket so to speak.

Unfortunately, I don't have a blog that explains my entire story. I used to blog a little about cryptocurrencies when I first started here. Actually, it was during the bonanza of ICOs. I'm not saying I didn't make any mistakes or bad calls, but some of the stupidity made me keen to research for good and bad ones to notice what to avoid and how to spot the difference.
If it looks like a pyramid, well. That rule is supposedly obvious. I like to imagine I have a degree of experience and sophistication (I really don't).
To step it up, if I had to go with one rule, anyone who allows people to positively speculate but not negatively speculate while pretending they are offering a service and not security.... too many contradictions to be a good thing.

I'm skeptical because 90% ~ 99% of cryptocurrencies are [rightly] called junk. Also it doesn't even seem to matter if they are in the top 100 or the bottom 1000 (I'll admit it's not even).
Whether it is 9 in 10 or 99 in 100 is a matter of how optimistic you are. Who wouldn't want to be skeptical in this market?

Yes, we are generally in agreement @abitcoinskeptic ...

"That's why I think it's better not to give anyone that trust, even if the security is rock solid, all your eggs in one basket so to speak."

... as it is always prudent to diversify and not get involved with something you don't really understand. As a Business Analyst, I have been mostly "comfortable" (relatively speaking) with the idea of investing in this area, up to a certain level. It is all, ultimately, software and networking. Very sophisticated on both counts, but nonetheless ...

Overall, for this asset class, the best analogy I've read / heard is likening these "digital assets" to the auto industry early in American history. Soon after the invention of the car, there were many auto companies here. Over time, however, they went out of business until there were only three left.

But ... Those three changed the world ...

Wow. Seriously great conversation you're having here @roleerob :)

Yes @crypto.piotr, as committed, I did my part with the time I had available.

And you have honored your commitment, as well. Thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57241.75
ETH 2428.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40