Business Trends 1

in #business6 years ago (edited)

I observed these practices on two restaurants I usually visit. Let's name them together as McDollebi (I saw a similar name for a meat store at our city market)

For our topic we will use the code B1 it is a combination of burger and regular sized fries and drinks(coke) for P80.00

  1. THE OLD SCENARIO

"Happy day. What will be your order?” The attendant asks.
"B1." I answered as I prepare my payment. She looks at the counter and says "That will be P80.00" then you hand over the money. “I received P100.00" she explained, gave me the change, then walks away to prepare the order while I stood there, thinking what to do with my life.

This is the usual routine less stress and time wasted since don't have to think once you made up your choice.

  1. THE UPSELL

"Happy day. What will be your order?" The attendant asks.

"B1." I answered as I prepare the payment then the attendant asks, "Do you want your coke to be Pineapple juice?"
I paused for a moment. her question caught me off guard. My brain used 1000 hp to recover and quickly answered "coke will do."

And when you thought its done, there is another question. “Do you want your drinks and fries large?"

"Just the normal one, the one being offered for $80.00" I said.

"That will be P80.00 then" She says as I hand over the money.

"I received P100.00" she explained, gave me the change, then walks away to prepare the order while you stood there searching for the answer to the question "Why do they have to bother asking if your order is already specific."

  1. THE ENFORCED UPSELL

"Happy day. What will be your order?" The attendant asks.
"B1." You replied, and the attendant quickly said, "I'm sorry sir, coke is not available." and your brain told itself "Oh".

Then the attendant would break the silence with a follow through and asks "We only have iced tea and pineapple juice. What will it be?"

This time your mind must use 5000 hp power to convince yourself to relax, stay, and choose because
You waited 10 minutes for your turn to order.
It will take more time to go to another fast food then fall in line for another 10minutes
Pineapple will do is not bad.
Additional P20.00 is affordable.

So, after 3 seconds of silence you answered. "Pineapple juice will do."

You’re lucky if they say "That will be P100.00" then end of conversation.
What if they upsell and asks, "Do you want you fries large?" Then it is a different story.

  1. SURPRISE CHARGE-

I'm just surprised why the cashier charged me P100.00 instead of P80.00. After using some brain cells, I realized that they charged me for a large sized drink without informing me.

I paid the first time it happened but made me aware of the technique the second time around. I always bother asking for correction every time it happens.

This scenario makes me wonder if cashiers are given specific quotas to meet that force the attendant to do such acts.
***This no longer happens. Maybe someone complained.

Sort:  

Congratulations @pearori! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57808.87
ETH 3061.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33