That moment you tell your wife about the money you've made on Steemit

in #business8 years ago

 

We are not rolling in the money.

I am a fifth grade teacher. My wife is a minister.  We roll in debt. We bathe in it. Despite building careers were we try to help others; things are very tight financially.  Yesterday, the starter on my car died. A 2010 Santa Fe, it was the first problem I’ve ever had with the car. It had also just passed 100,000. That’s a $500 fix.  Our daughter has her fifth birthday next week and has been begging for a Chuck-E-Cheese birthday. Those aren’t free. (Unless you know someone, in which case, please email me.) But yet, I've been making money on the side with Steemit.  Some actual in my checking account money.I have not talked to my wife about Steemit yet, because frankly I couldn’t fully understand it, or believe it.  

 My wife and kid getting eaten by debt as I tell them about Steemit.“What do you mean I get paid to blog, comment, and upvote? What’s the catch? Where’s the money coming from?”  Those were the questions I thought she was going to ask, but really they were my questions. So after getting towed to the garage, I lost another set of keys in the process. That was a fun moment. Which really means, my wife was handling it well, I was not. So with the kid taking a bath, and us chilling in front of the TV, I thought okay now is the moment. 

“I have something I’ve been working on that I want to share.”

 That’s how I opened the conversation. You know light and breezy. “I’ve been working on something that has been bringing in a little money.” “Okay, that’s good,” she replied. So, then began the long explanation of Steem and Steemit. As we all know, that’s such an easy conversation to have.  I opened the computer to my wallet at that time it showed a value of just over $14,000. 

“Are you telling me you have $14,000 in cash?”  

“In cash? Not completely.”  I showed her the post I wrote about comparing Steem, Steem Power, and Steem Dollars, to CDs, a savings account, and a checking account.  “Where does the money come from?” I spoke for several more minutes without any worthy explanation. (If you have been able to do this satisfactorily to your spouse, significant other, please explain in the comments.) “I have not put any of our money into this. I have only put my time.” “That’s good.” “How long has this site been up?” “I think since April or May.” “So, you’re telling me you’ve made $14,000 in three months?” “No, I’ve been on for three weeks. I’ve made $14,000 in three weeks.” Blank stare for a moment, “Well, okay then.” “But I have already transferred $108 into my checking, and another 200 and something is coming tomorrow. This pays me in actual cash.” “That’s good.” Our daughter yelled that she needed to get out of the bath, so my wife went to get her.“So, does this mean we CAN go to the beach this summer?” “Maybe. We’ll see.” I turn back to my computer.Sweetie, in a couple of years we’ll own a house at the beach.   

Sort:  

Good stuff. My wife is a stay at home mom homeschooling our two boys. While I make plenty of money for our current bills, the old loans are still a burden. Fortunately Steem has come along and I should be able to take care of my 12 year old school loan in a couple of months from what I get from my power down I started last week. Once we get out from under our burden, we want to do more to help others out from under theirs.

Well done buddy! Good to hear that with your contribution in steem, you are able to slowly get yourself out of debt, make your daughter happy and continue on working on your goals. Hope the passion and desire to contribute to the community will catapult you to great sucess.

nice job and hope it all works out for you

What a great story! I love it! Good for you, I hope you get your beach house. In fact if you're certain enough, you will. Sounds like you were due a break :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66263.69
ETH 3419.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63