#12 CASE STUDY : Why Dominos Pizza Is Winning In The Fast Food Delivery Market

in #business7 years ago (edited)

So, I was busy yesterday night trying my best to mow down my never ending To Do list and when I finally looked up it was 10pm.

10pm???

Oh my! And I hadn't even bathe or had my dinner yet!

Knowing there will not be any vegetarian food left in my area at that hour, I contemplated driving across town to hopefully find some vegetarian food which will still be open at that hour or opt for food delivery instead. One good look at my list of To Do's, I knew by the time I got home I would be too stuffed to even work.

So, I opted for the obvious - food delivery

Now based on my past experiences with food delivery vendors namely Pizza Hut, Kentucky Fried Chicken and Mc Donalds which are all located within 1 to 5km radius from my residence, I am sad to report that the experience was nothing to shout about. In fact, I have had my fair share of burgers arriving 2 hours later than estimated, cold pizzas, soggy fries and oohh..not to mention the rude and frustrating calls to the Call Centres to enquire on the status of my orders to no avail.

However, when it comes to Dominos Pizza I have never encountered any issues with them except for maybe once when my pizzas were delivered 10 mins later than the usual 30 mins window. When the pizza delivery boy finally arrived at my doorstep, he was drenched from head to toe due to the heavy rain. He apologised profusely and immediately handed me the complimentary pizza voucher as a penalty for being late, even way before I could utter a single word. I felt so bad for him and tipped him as I knew it was beyond his control. Other than that one off incident, I must say Dominos Pizza has never failed to deliver.

Every. Single. Time.

And here's why...

TLDR Version

The Online Experience

  • Fast loading speed
  • 2 step login process via Email or Facebook login to reduce friction
  • Promotions are displayed clearly
  • Overall colour scheme of website is good and provide good contrast
  • Good choice of font type that is clear and legible
  • Good choice of font size that is big enough to view on mobile device and easy on the eyes particularly for senior citizens
  • Good choice of visuals or pictures (Very important for food industry)
  • Good UX/UI (User Experience/User Interface) - Easy to navigate across the website
  • Video tutorials to help guide potential customers - User friendly
  • Real time order tracker - To track your orders
  • Add ons - Good marketing strategy to increase the basket size of each order
  • Dominos Express Card/E-coupons - Promotes customer retention and brand loyalty

The Offline Experience

  • Speed - From checkout to doorstep in 20 mins
  • Food quality - Piping hot pizzas
  • Service - Excellent service and warm smile by the pizza delivery man

The Online Experience

The moment when you key in the website address it takes about 5 seconds to load the page and land on the official Dominos Pizza Malaysia site. As soon as you see the site, you will notice the slider that display all their latest promotion with really good and enticing pictures (Yes, good pictures sells!). To the right of the webpage are all their evergreen pizza promotions. As you scroll down the page, you will see all the different variants of pizza. If you take a closer look at the webpage, you will notice from the choice of colours (bright bold striking colours), to the location of each tabs, the font type right down to the font size (big enough for mobile users and senior citizens) which are all very user friendly and makes it easy for you to navigate around the site. Dominos even have a video tutorial to teach you how to order their pizzas. Talk about idiot proof!

Dominos1.png

The Sign Up process was frictionless as UX Designers would call it, as you can opt to sign up or login via your Facebook thus reducing the time needed to get started or you can choose to create your new user account using the 2 step process by entering your email address and password.

dominos2.png

Once you have registered, it will direct you to your own dashboard where you will notice 4 major tabs - My Profile, My Address, My Favourite and Order History. After you have input your personal details in My Profile and My Address, you are now ready to order your first pizza.

Click on Menu located on the top left corner and it will lead you to Dominos's Meals where you get to select from 24 types of pizzas or combo deals (at the time of writing). Talk about choices.

dominos4.png

Once you make your choice, the website will direct you to the next page where you get to select your favourite pizzas. Click on the Upper Top Left corner where you see the blinking pizza icon before you start selecting your favourite pizzas. For speedier order, Dominos even created filters for you to quickly order your pizza. You can opt to filter via Sauces or Toppings. Just click on any of the icons and it will automatically display the pizzas based on the filter. Once you have decided on your favourite pizzas, click on the green Order This button to order where it will then prompt you to choose your favourite crust and your choice of toppings.

Noticed the surcharge that is conveniently displayed next to the item? This move not only creates transparency, but it also enable customers to make an immediate decision on which crust they should opt for based on price and answers the question of how much which usually pops up in customers' mind during the ordering process.

dominos7.png

Likewise for the toppings, you get to choose what kind of toppings you like along with the price clearly. Take note the options are presented to you in a + or - format where you just need to click to choose, without even typing on the keyboard. How convenient!

Once you are done, it will show you a Summary of the pizzas which you have selected. You can choose to edit your order by clicking on Edit, else you proceed to the Checkout page by clicking on the green Confirm button.

dominos9.png

On the Checkout page, you will be prompted if you like to have any Add-Ons on top of your pizzas. This is a clever move to entice customers to purchase more on top of what they have ordered, which leads to an increase in basket size.

Notice the i icon in the picture. Upon hovering your mouse over it, a description will appear explaining in detail what the dish is all about. This allows customers to make an informed decision.

Once you have completed the steps, you are now ready to proceed to Checkout. Just click on the Checkout button and select your mode of payment and Voila! Your pizza is on the way. Dominos has a cool real time tracker that allows you to track your pizza orders moment by moment including the estimated time of delivery, until the pizzas reached your doorstep. Impressed? I sure am.

dominos12.png

That's not all. Once you Checkout you will notice an option for you to apply for Dominos Express Card with a FREE regular pizza to redeem upon card activation. What an excellent marketing strategy to boost customer retention and customer loyalty.

dominos14.png

As I was about to exit the webpage, I was informed Dominos Pizza has offered me not one but two eCoupons to redeem for my next purchase. Talk about Wow!. The first coupon was a FREE Personal Pizza for new account registration while the latter was a special promotion for one of their combo meals.

dominos14a.png

The Offline Experience

I glanced at my clock.

10:15pm

Great! I thought to myself. The pizzas would probably take a half hour to arrive. I quickly showered and by the time I was done, I heard a soft knock on my door. True enough the pizza delivery man is here. I swung open my door and there he was, all smiles and ready to hand me my dinner (or rather supper!)

I glanced at the clock on the wall.

It was only 10:35pm.

So all in all, it took Dominos Pizza less than 30 mins to process my order, baked my pizza according to my specifications, packed it and deliver it right to my doorstep.

By the time I paid the pizza delivery man and stood on my front door with 2 boxes of piping hot pizzas in hand, I was totally blown away by the wonderful Online to Offline (O2O) experience I just had.

Par excellence as some experts would proudly say...

pizza resize.jpg

As for the other fast food delivery services, hmm...let's just say, they still have a long way to go...

PS:Although the process may seem long due to the screenshots and the step by step examination of the webpages, in reality it takes only a few minutes to maneuver across the site from order to checkout

Updated: To include TLDR and better visuals

DISCLAIMER: This post is not sponsored nor is it affiliated to Dominos Pizza Malaysia or whatsover

All screenshots are captured from the official Dominos Pizza Malaysia website, with the exception of the last picture which was snapped using my humble mobile device

Sort:  

I must say this is super detailed! Sure u have spent hours on analyzing and writing this post. I personally seldom use the delivery service by fast food restaurant, as i prefer to pick it up myself (30minutes timeframe seems abit too long for me lol). But salute to the delivery guy, its a tough job with minimal wages. Good sharing from u!

Thanks @jiafui for dropping by and reading it. Yes, I thought I will give a detailed account of my opinion as a customer and hopefully other fast food vendors can emulate from the example of Dominos Pizza. I was told their service is consistent everywhere even in other countries

Really glad you posted this because it really shows the excellence in execution in everything they do.

Honestly, Domino Malaysia really have no direct competition when it comes to pizza because Pizza Hut still tries to be a fancy pizzeria when that was out of style 20 years ago.

But instead of sitting on their monopoly, they weaved excellence from hiring quality web developers and administrators all the way down to their delivery staff.

Business these days need to stop counting the money and start printing it through hard work and customer service.

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Let me know if you have any questions regarding the project or nomination. Hope to hear from you soon!

If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. You can read about it here.

Sure @howtostartablog and @ocd. Thank you in advance for Resteeming it. It gives hope to those who genuinely put in the hardwork to earn the right to be upvoted and reap the rewards that they truly deserved.

Ah might have confused you a little. The ocd-resteem thing is a different incentive. This nomination is for the OCD Daily, and if you get enough votes (by other OCD curators) to be in the top 10, then your post will be featured and get voted on.

Thanks @howtostartablog for the clarification. Lots to learn indeed

Another amazing write by @karinzdailygrind and it's super detailed. You must be poured in quite a bit of time in analyzing such details :) Anyway, I love dominos haha especially their white sauce pizza <3

Thanks @deborism for Upvoting and commenting. It takes a fellow comrade like you to understand the hardwork, time and dedication that goes into producing one good piece of content. Keep Steeming! #DominosPizzaFans4Life

This is a marvelous post.

I love how you took a personal experience and turned it into a very informative post about a company's service that you appreciate.

My wife and I are occasional Domino's customers here in the US. We recently went over to some friends' house to have dinner, and they ordered pizza from a local pizza store. I always forget that that store is there even though their food is delicious, because I go to Domino's website first whenever we're thinking about ordering pizza.

They always have great deals. Right now their 3-topping large pizza for $7.99 is one of my favorites. Plus the store is not far from our house, so we can go pick it up easily. I agree with you that their online ordering system is great. They have a loyalty rewards program, so I've got a coupon for a free medium pizza the next time we order!

Great job on the screenshots. I know how long those can take to nail down for a post like this. I appreciate the time you took to share a positive experience in detail, and I like the tl;dr summary because it lets your readers know what to expect from the rest of the post.

So glad you're a member of The STEEM Engine. I'm looking forward to more great posts like this from you in the future.

Hey @ethandsmith! Thanks for swinging by, upvoting and commenting on my post. I truly appreciate it. It is certainly very encouraging when one's work is recognised because they choose to focus on creating a good piece of valuable content, instead of just gunning for the Upvotes or rewards.

Glad to hear that Dominos Pizza's excellent service is consistent even in the US. This is something that restaurants all over should strive to emulate. Provide exceptional customer service be it online or offline and you have customers for life.

And yes, it took me more than 5 hours to come out with this post coupled with the screenshots and the TLDR. But I am glad I wrote this Case Study to add value to other readers, as I personally think Dominos Pizza deserves a pat on the back for providing an awesome service to their customers.

Have a blessed day ahead!

Good grief, woman! That is a thorough write-up on the ordering and delivery of pizza!!! LOL... Great job, Karin! Next, we shall await the acceptance of steem for pizza... The day the pizza boy steps up and you can transfer steem to him when he hands you that flat box - Yayyy! 😄

Haha..have you been stalking me @ackkhoo lately? ;D Great idea on the payment with Steem thingy. @bitrocker2020 has officially announced today that @danielwong's Big Hug Burger will be accepting Steem for burgers at his outlets. By the time it comes to pizzas, I hope we can just make transfer Steem upon checkout, instead of paying using fiat

Awesome post Karin! I think the CEO of Domino's won a CEO of Year award or something like that for improving customer experience and turning the company around.

Thank you @kalizad for the information. I truly believe he deserves it as he understands what his customer wants and deliver it beyond their expectations

Very well done post sir. You really like Dominoes! Now I want some pizza, lol.

Haha...thanks for stopping by @mental-extract. Go ahead and grab them while it's hot!

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Thanks for @resteemator. Voted and followed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56924.47
ETH 3086.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41