[Personal experience] Work in South Korea for foreigners

in #business6 years ago

In previous articles, I shared my experience of studying in South Korea, told about the possibility of free higher education and about student life. This topic was devoted to 3 articles: Part 1, Part 2, Part 3. Diploma received, what next? It's time to roll up your sleeves and get to work.

I propose to talk about who and how foreigners work in South Korea.

When I was in my last year at the Korean University, I already worked part-time at a construction company, so I did not have problems with finding a job after graduating from university. The work is interesting, the salary is good. Most of my friends, those who also studied in Korea, work as translators in hospitals or plastic surgery clinics. I myself went and go sometimes, when there is time, for translations, this is additional income and communication with new people. All my life, 5 times a week, hang around in the hospital and translate - it's definitely not for me. Too boring and boring, I do not like monotony, I need new emotions and feelings.

Do you know that people go to Korea not only to study and rest but also to improve their financial situatio?. But is it really that easy ?! Easy money does not happen! As in any country, it is difficult to find a decent job in South Korea without knowing the Korean language.
I remember in Italy without knowledge of Italian and going to the store was already an adventure, and in Korea, everyday life will be much easier if at least a little to know the Korean language.

The bulk of visiting workers goes to work in factories. Few people go to work in factories. Someone works on a hourly payment, and someone is already "officially", for the salary. On average, the plant can earn about 1,500-2,000 dollars per month.

As I already wrote, many graduates or students earn medical translations. This topic is very popular in Korea. Many go to the so-called array (under work) in hospitals. In an hour they pay about 15-20 dollars. Sometimes you even have to go into the operating room. I used to do this, but now it's rare. Now I just help those wishing to undergo diagnostics, treatment or plastic surgery in Korea, pick up a suitable clinic and make their stay in Korea as interesting and comfortable as possible.

The tourism industry in Korea is very well developed. Russian-speaking guide per day on average receives about 150 dollars. But you need to know the culture and history of the country. And of course, to officially work as a guide, you need a license, for which you need to pass a special examination.

On the windows and doors of many cafes in Korea, you can often see ads that require waiters. Usually for such work they pay about $ 5 per hour. Many Korean students start earning money from this kind of work. The big plus of working in a cafe is that you can save on food. I remember when I was working in an Indian restaurant, I was not only fed for a whole working day with different delicacies, so I was also wrapped up in the evening with my own food. So I started to love the Indian cuisine. By the way, if you want to lose weight, then go to work in a bar or in a cafe in busy areas. After one day of work in such places, your legs do not feel anymore. And even in a dream, then the feet themselves go.


The announcement of work at a cafe window

In Korea, many Russian cafes, for work in which to know the Korean language is optional.

Tutoring can also be a good addition. I taught Russian to Koreans. When there are a lot of students, such an Arbyte can be even more profitable than the main job. I studied with some students for a long time, they took exams. Sometimes you think like I came to you, even I could not really read, and now I can talk with him on everyday topics. There was a case, I even taught basic Korean to foreigners, but I believe that the language should be taught by a native speaker, so I had no special desire to teach the Korean language.

Another version of the work can be found directly at the university itself. Many teachers hire assistants who help check household work and prepare material for classes. I worked with an American professor from the Department of Economics, who had taught and lived in Korea for a long time. My task was to help him in scientific research. We saw him once a week, he gave assignments, we discussed some pressing issues. I worked with the professor after graduation, even when he returned to California. They wrote together a scientific article, which should be published soon. So, a simple part-time job eventually turned into my first scientific work, in the article the professor indicated me as a co-author.

Briefly about visa

For official employment, a visa N or E is required. Visa N is usually obtained before coming to Korea. But the visa E helps to get the company that takes you to work. Therefore, if you leave this job and get a new job, you will need to renew your visa.

Foreign students are usually issued a visa D, which usually work.

Foreign students are usually issued a visa D, which usually cannot work. If there is a desire to work, then you need to get a certain permission, the number of working hours allowed for such a visa is limited.

In short, if you want, you can find work in Korea. But the knowledge of the Korean language is the key to decent work and high pay.

Russian version: https://steemit.com/business/@irisworld/lichnyi-opyt-rabota-v-yuzhnoi-koree-dlya-inostrancev


@irisworld


If you have any questions about Korea don't hesitate to contact me here or via instagram

More articles about my travel adventures you can find here


Original versions

Sort:  

Congratulations @irisworld! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=irisworld
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=personal-experience-work-in-south-korea-for-foreigners


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by irisworld from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59328.31
ETH 2997.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79