THE FAKE PEOPLE OF THIS WORLD

in #business6 years ago (edited)

A friend of mine who I met through business said something once that has stuck with me. He is very successful and whatever he touches seems to do very well. He has a knack of always coming out on top.

He sold a company a few years ago for tens of millions and started a new project. This is when I met him and we just clicked. I knew he had money ,but that had nothing to do with our friendship. We just clicked and had regular coffee mornings. He would run ideas and we would discuss the pro's and con's of each move. I found this fascinating and if I could help with some thoughts I would.I was getting schooled in business and I really appreciated it.

There was one funny moment that happened over 2 coffee mornings. The first time another guy called Gary bought in chocolate muffins as a treat and my friend put them in the microwave to warm up. No one said anything and we ate them. The next time I bought some chocolate muffins Gary went and nuked them. The question was asked why did you do that they were perfect as they were? Gary said that the last time we microwaved them, so he thought that was how it was meant to be eaten. My mate turned around and said no, yours were stale and these were fresh lol.

He mentioned that since he had sold his last company his phone had gone quiet. I said to him was this normal or just a coincidence? His answer was that people like success and he is in the dumps at the moment growing a new company so they wont phone. I thought this was shocking., but how shallow people are.
businessman-holding-phone-blue-screen-phone-ringi-touch-ringing-tube-over-villages-table-34597317.jpg

He is doing well again which was expected and business is booming. His phone is ringing again and the same people are phoning for a chat. This time is different however as he is not a fool and knows who the ones are who have stuck with him through thick and thin.

Peoples actions are very transparent and they don't realize that. If I was him I would tell them to get lost but he wont. He said he may need to use them in the future but has penciled in the real mates and the followers.

Image source medium.com and dreamstime.com

Sort:  

Someone told me that in business you always deal with people at least twice so don’t burn your bridges the first time . I think your friend has this in mind but it’s good that he knows who his real friends are .

Never burn your bridges and I am sure he will now use them properly.

It's a common attitude in life I think, people can be very shallow and will literally "chase the money" given the opportunity.

But then again as your friend says it works both ways, contacts are contacts and pretty much everyone can have a use one way or another. Not everything in life is based purely on fiscal renumeration, if you need something doing having a broad set of skills to call on can be invaluable.

One thing in life is always true though, if you treat people the same way you would like be treated yourself....you won't go far wrong.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

I agree I never change and will always treat people the same way I would like to be treated. Simple rules.

Fame, and success attract people, money as well. I could tell you stories but there is no need for that. I agree with you 100%.

True. They want to know you when you are on the up ,but discard you on the down.

Isn't that the TRUTH!

Lol, i wrote my comment first, and then have read the others :D

Success, they say, have many friends, but we can not say the same about failure.
I recently lost my father and it has been a difficult time for me. Those who were around my father during the period he had so much are nowhere to be found. It is sad and at the same time, it is an eye-opener. I know those who really matter in this life and I believe when things turn out good again for me I won't make the mistake of welcoming everybody. The positive side about not having anything is that you know those who really care. I know those people now.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sorry to hear about the loss of your dad. It is true rather knowing who really cares. I hate fake people and wear my heart on my sleeve and that is just me. I am very particular who I trust these days.

People's actions are much more transparent than they think. Your friend is wise not to discard his fair weather friends. No reason to burn bridges as those people might come in handy if something needing to be done and requiring a lower level of trust comes up.

It is very smart as he will "use" them now. People are just stupid and don't see how others can see what they are up to.

When you are up, the friends know, who you are.

When you are down, you know, who are your friend.

Hi, @cryptoandcoffee!

You just got a 23.94% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

You got a 50.48% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @cryptoandcoffee!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 12 SBD or the respective amount in Steem. Vote value is 150% of the bid.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67865.46
ETH 3258.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64