You don't need money to make money - just a little creative magic

in #business8 years ago

I opened my shop on a tighter than a shoestring budget. 

The whole story as to how I ended up opening a shop in the first place is quite the tale of adventure. But there I was 6 months pregnant with identical twins, opening a shop for the first time, with less than $500 to my name and otherwise unemployed. 

 
To fit out my shop with displays to showcase my products, I had to get really scrappy. I scoured rubbish dumps, op-shops (charity stores), garage sales, various buy/swap/sell groups and car boot flea markets. I even gathered objects from walks in the bush. I let whatever I found, guide my shop design and help tell my story, my products story.  I trained myself to look for display fitting in the most unusual of objects.  Necessity is truly the mother of invention.

What started out as resourceful necessity, soon became my point of difference. 

People loved it.  Over time this sparked a whole new side line to my handcrafted designs and turned my shop into the Recycled Gallery that it is now.   

I wanted to share this with you as I know there are plenty of people out there looking to start something awesome but feel trapped by lack of financial resources. You might not be planning to open a shop but whatever you want to do – a little bit of innovation goes a long way. Look around for the resources at hand. Instead of being fixed on a certain idea, let these existing resources play a role in shaping your dream.  

Start small. Very small even. 

Build and grow over time. Don't get me wrong, having plenty of capital to kickstart a new venture is an advantage. However, there is value in allowing a new business to evolve. When you have to watch every penny spent, you put a great deal of thought into the 80/20 principle. With more capital to play with, it is easy to waste funds on a whim and on the other 80%.  That is my experience anyway. 


I am going to let my photos tell the rest of the story...

For those curious this is a non exhaustive list of the things I used. Can you spot some of them in the pictures?

  • spoons
  • 44 gallon drums
  • chicken wire
  • old skirting boards
  • apple crates
  • the base of a wood bed
  • vintage pegs
  • books
  • cardboard
  • cement stencils
  • tree branches, wisteria vine and leaves
  • coat hangers
  • wood logs
  • coffee filters
  • wire
  • dresser drawers
  • doors
  • wood spools
  • lace, fabric & ribbon
  • table tenis racket
  • mason jars
  • coffee mug stands
  • old motorbike
  • pallets
  • half used tins of house paint
  • camp table
  • suitcases
  • spinning wheel
  • cheese grater


Even now with a higher cashflow, I still make myself look at the things I have or can get cheaply before spending bigger bucks. 

Until next time - GET THRIFTY

xx Isabella

Sort:  

Very cool, great ideas, you have a talant to see beauty in ordinary things

Glad you enjoyed it @nekromarinist. I am now somewhat addicted to collecting up ordinary things whenever I find them :)

I love that table. Nice.

The green door table? Yup she is a beauty. I made another one using a blue door. They are the best workhorse tables, solid, forgiving of stains and marks. The legs came from a few broken water damaged Ikea tables.

creative design ideas - I like it!

Thank-you @sunnyray. It has been a labour of love for the past two years of my life.

maybe you will find something interesting for yourself on this site
Crafta - a creative platform, which presents
thousands of handicrafts from the best masters of Ukraine
http://crafta.ua/
Good luck :)

Ooo @sunnyray. I will check it out. I love seeing what other countries have in the handcrafted domain. Cheers :)

mutual assistance and friendship is a good thing :)

Your story is inspiring ! Nice restoration ! Love the spoon hangers idea!
Very very cool and creative. Is your store online?? Where are you stablished ? Best of luck! Keep it up!

Thanks @renuccio. The spoon hangers burnt out a few drill bits before I realised you need to look for spoons that have the letter 'EPNS' stamped on the back - this stands for Electro Plated Nickel Silver. It is much softer, easier to bend and drill than pure stainless steel. I know for next time! Yes I do sell online (mostly just my own label) at www.bridgetbunchy.com.au. I am based in Queensland Australia. My Recycled Gallery shops now stocks work from over 50 local artisans all using predominately recycled materials in their design. I love seeing all the cool innovative handcrafted pieces come through the doors.

Good call on the spoons !! :D thanks ! will def be visiting ! awesome initiative, kudos !

Love how you used what you had at your disposal. The clothes hangers are really clever!

Cheers @anca3drandom - I made those cardboard hangers as small baby clothes don't display well on normal size hangers and since I have become known for my recycling it didn't seem right to spend money on new plastic hangers. They are a recent addition to my shop. So easy to make as a diy.

I know! Those kittens on your clothes hangers are so adorable.

Very creative mind and great effort! Learned a few tricks for home deco, thanks for sharing!

My pleasure @rea. I had a great time going back through my old shop photos to prepare this post. Regular photography is a great way to measure progress!

Divine! I'm going to start bending spoons for hooks, they look amazing!

That spoon hanger is probably one of the most commented on pieces in my shop. I mentioned this in an earlier reply below - look for spoons with the ENSP stamp on the back - they are much softer to bend than stainless steel and won't burn out the drill bit!

Thanks for the top tip!

I've put you in my latest post, you're represented as a spoon and bunting :D

Love your story and photos! You're very inspirational and you have a great eye for design. Thanks for sharing.

You are most welcome @magickalmalia. Thank you for your kind words.

Love your ingenuity and creative spark, looks like a fabulous shop. So happy to be finding other creative/artist women here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59908.77
ETH 3191.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43