Game Concept and Gameplay Footage

in #business7 years ago (edited)

In my previous post My Indie Game Post-Mortem, I eluded to working on another game. Everything is very raw and "prototype-ee" right now, but I wanted to show you where I landed on it and get your opinions.

In particular, I'm looking for thoughts like:

  • Would you play a game like this?
  • Do you like the art style?
  • Is this something you'd consider for crowdfunding?
  • Is there something that you dislike about what I'm showing?

BandBConcept_Overlay.png Link to Artist's Twitter

I'm trying to make a go/no-go decision on this because it would be a much larger project than Final Storm, and I'd have to find a way to fund it. The first step in doing that is to get this in front of some people and get feedback.

Watch the video - Early Gameplay Footage:

The Elevator Pitch

Beast and Blade (working title?) is a brawler with Castle Crashers Style gameplay set in the Feudal Japan era. A warlord has summoned a Demon(Oni) and the lands are being corrupted by this demon bringing about mythological creatures to ruin the lands. In order to summon the demon, the Warlord kidnaps the player’s family as a living sacrifice to summon the demon. The player is trying to rescue members of the family and develops martial skills along the way. Initial gameplay will support Local multiplayer of 1-4 players.

What do you think?

I'd love to hear your thoughts and suggestions - let me know in the comments below.

Sort:  

This is pretty interesting dude, the attacking seems very seamless especially with the combos.

Lots of questions that you have to ask in a project like this, do you have a cheat sheet where you can just check off yes and no?

I really like the look of the artwork by the way and I'm looking forward to more updates!

Cool, thanks. I don't have a cheatsheet per-say, but I have scribbles of a design document, a google doc collaborating with the artist on story and plot. If I finish this out I'll certainly build a marketing plan into it and not make the same mistake I did with my last game :) Thanks for the comment.

Liking the Animal characters. I'd check this out.

I agree - It's not something you see a lot of. I think it could be fun.

looks very cool

I enjoyed playing this game a couple of years ago. Great memories. It's always fun playing with the animal character. Cat characters remind me of the Elder Scrolls series. Were you inspired by it? Anyway, I'd like to play next in a little bit another fantasy game. I've recently started playing League of Legends with my friends and really liked the process. I even got the new account at lolfinity for a reasonable price. That's great because I didn't want to wait for too long for my character to upgrade. Simply don't have time for waiting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63915.30
ETH 2740.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59