You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dear failing entrepreneur: What's wrong with being an employee?

in #business7 years ago

I know a failed entrepreneur. He gave up his family, his perfectly decent career, his life savings and the respect of his peers to strike out on his own and "go big" in a new country in a new industry he knew nothing about. Ten years later he has yet to land a big deal, has no friends to speak of, has destroyed the financial well being of his family and driven his children to serious drug addiction and suicide through financial and emotional neglect.

I know a wantrepreneur. He made big plans after college to go into the entertainment industry as a manager, took on a client, set up meetings with big names using his parents' connections. Unfortunately he was much better at making plans than ever following through, and his idea of networking involves getting blackout drunk at black tie galas and throwing his business card at anyone with even a hint of status. Two months into a drink and drug bender, his client is leaving him now, emotionally and financially drained and owed a lot of money, and considering leaving an industry which I once knew him to have so much talent and potential for.

I am an entrepreneur. After a year of working for others in industries I'm not suited for and building a solid base to go out on my own, I'm doing my best to make progress every day. Steemit is turning out to be a major factor in said progress. I don't have many friends now. I've isolated myself from anyone who doesn't add value to my life. One of the hardest things about making your own way is coming to terms with exactly how much it is ~your own way~ at least at the beginning. It's so easy to lose focus, to get caught up with parts of life that don't have to do with advancing yourself and end up a wantrepreneur or an abject failure.

Every once in a while I come across a post somewhere on the internet that speaks to me. I found that in your post. You've put into words feelings I often have, and given me the opportunity to reflect on people in my life who, unfortunately, have ended up examples of everything I never want to become. Only time and my own grit will tell whether I succeed or fail, but I appreciate you writing and giving me this moment to think about it. All the best to you,

Sort:  

Wow, @Ausxen, thanks for your sharing. The stories you mentioned, especially the one about yourself, means a lot to me.

I think you're on the right track, and as long as you're making decent progress day by day, you're gonna be ok. Better than ok! Sometimes to really see how much you've come, you have to look back. It's not about living in the past. It's about taking comfort that you've moving forward.

I hope so. The new year has been a great reason to look back. I'm in a very different place today than I was this time last year, not geographically but in terms of personal and financial growth, for sure. I've watched many around me stagnate in this same time.

Thanks for your article.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64630.77
ETH 3189.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56