A Challenge to Read 100 Books in 2018

in #business6 years ago

_hl=en&taken-by=angelahigbee (1).jpg

Everyone Should Have A Reading Habit

Books are magical. They allow people to learn a new subject, explore a new idea, or travel back in time - all from the comfort of their own home.

Reading is something (I believe) every person should do on an ongoing basis.

But let's face it: most of us rarely read as often as we should. Between work, family, and recreation, it's almost impossible to "find" time - you truly have to intentionally carve time out.

In fact, according to the Pew Research Center, about 72% of Americans only read one book per year.

Coming Clean

coffee-break-1291381_1920.jpg

It's time to spill the beans.

I watch too much TV. Netflix and I have gotten along far too well for much too long. I've investigated with the Pinkertons, fought crime with Detective Longmire, and rooted on Barry Allen as he transformed into the clash.

None of which got me one step closer to my goal of growing a successful business.

And so, as Jim Rohn said,

"For things to change, you have to change."

I've been inspired to pick new challenges for the New Year. Since I've been too focused on TV lately, I'm deciding that for 2018, I'll be transforming my TV habit into a reading habit.

My goal is to read 100 books by the end of 2018. This means I'll have to read about two books per week to stay on course.

Why Read 100 Books in a Year?

More than anything, I'm looking forward to what I'll learn and the way reading more often will transform the way I think.

But don't take it from me. Here are a few other good reasons to read from scientists and other professionals:

1) Reading regularly and slow (or prevent) the onset of memory loss. (Via ABC News http://abcnews.go.com/Health/story?id=117588&page=1#.UZZr0Cv703Y)

2) Self-help books have been linked to reducing depression. (Find the study here: http://www.plosone.org/article/info%3Adoi%2F10.1371%2Fjournal.pone.0052735)

3) Reading is an excellent way to improve your vocabulary; according to studies, people with larger vocabularies tend to be more successful in their career when compared to people with smaller vocabularies. (Read more about that here: https://blog.elevateapp.com/why-a-substantial-vocabulary-is-important-68b8f2cfe7e7)

4) Reading decreases stress and increases self esteem. (Source here: http://www.profkrg.com/why-you-should-read-every-day)

5) Reading daily improves analytical skills and concentration. (Find the source here: http://www.healthfitnessrevolution.com/top-10-health-benefits-reading/)

I Promise to Share

Of course, I'll keep you all posted on which books I'm reading and what my thoughts are on them. :)

Who wants to join in on this challenge with me?

Sort:  

Me! Let me join you. I'm doing a One-book-a-week Reading Challenge and will share my reading notes here on #steemit. I would love to accept the challenge.

Awesome!! Let's do it. I'm looking forward to reading your notes! :)

I have just declared "war" to my books and I will be posting my notes once a week, every Sunday (UTC+08:00).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 55747.05
ETH 2955.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13