SEC-S19 / W1 | Good food handling practices and types of knives used in the kitchen.

in #burnsteem252 months ago
AddText_07-11-08.22.18.pngImage from canva app, designed in add text

Hello chef,

Welcome to my blog! I can't remember the last time I was given an assignment or even attended a class. Wow! Steemit has done me well, bringing back the student in me. Well, we all learn every day, and I'm glad to partake in this lesson. I present my assignments below!


Question 1

Show us 1 or 2 good dietary practices that you frequently practice at home with your own photos. Explain each photo


IMG_20240711_082927_462.jpgStore cooked food carefully

This first image shows neatly packed food in the freezer. This is a good way for me to show good food practice. The freezer helps retain food for as long as possible.

Each time I cook, I make sure that after eating my portion, I pack the remaining ingredients into a food pack and store them in the freezer. For me, this is the best way to preserve food instead of warming it all the time.

This practice helps food stay fresh and retain its taste. I have noticed this over time, and I enjoy practicing it.

Cook food thoroughly and timelyIMG_20240710_143110_509.jpg

Every food is meant to be cooked thoroughly and timely. Of course, you will agree with me that each food has a duration.. The duration for cooking soup is not the same as for cooking rice, and the duration for cooking plantains is not the same as for cooking potatoes.

Timely cooking should be in place for each food. Cooking thoroughly is another thing, which is why I know my time for adding various ingredients while cooking and the time each will take.

Cooking food thoroughly helps prevent food poisoning and some health challenges.



Question 2

Show us, with your own photos, 1 or 2 bad food practices that we should not use in the kitchen. Explain each photo.


IMG_20240709_231127_042.jpgKeeping dirty dishes

This is a bad food practice that should not be found anywhere. Leaving these dishes attracts insects that fly, and these insects come and perch on the spoons, forks, plates, pots, and cooked food, disposing of some unhealthy things into the food, which can cause a serious health challenge.

Insects like cockroaches could walk on these dishes, and even when properly washed, they are not safe for health. It is very bad to leave dishes dirty after a meal. It is unhealthy to stock dirty dishes while preparing food after eating.



Question 3

What other good practices would you add to the list we share in this course?


Keep all kitchen surface sparkling cleanAddText_07-11-01.10.24.jpg

Leaving the kitchen surface clean before and after cooking is an ideal practice. It keeps us safe from danger and helps us prepare healthy meals.

I always love my environment to be sparkling clean, and my kitchen, where all meals are prepared, is not excluded. This practice keeps flies and insects from coming close to the kitchen. I have been practicing this all my life, and I tell you, I have been safe from food poisoning.

IMG_20240606_213234_504.jpgEat cooked food immediately

I don't see any need to keep cooked food open after cooking. I eat my food immediately after cooking because it is not safe and healthy to leave food open while you attend to other things.

If the food is hot, I suggest you blow it with a fan as you eat instead of leaving it open and allowing flies to perch on it.



Question 4

What other bad practices would you add to the list we shared in this course?


Storing of dust bins in the kitchen

This practice is a bad one. I don't think a dustbin should be kept in the kitchen; it should be outside the house. These are things that attract insects to poison our food.

There are people who use paper bags to store dust, and they allow them to stay for so long before disposing of them. Sometimes it smells so horrible or produces water droplets, which leave some tiny flies around the kitchen, and this is so unhygienic.

Turning on the gas while not in use

This singular act has caused a lot of havoc in some homes today. This is a very bad practice. When you are not ready to cook, there is no need to turn on the gas.

I have seen a situation where the gas was on and the woman cooking in the kitchen mistakenly turned over to another side and got her pot without knowing that some parts of her cloth had entered the fire, and she got burned even before she started preparing the meal.



Question 5

Now that you have learned how to use basic kitchen knives, we would like to know your favorite kitchen knife and what you use it for


IMG_20240711_133947_831.jpgThe Chef knife

This is my favorite knife since it is multipurpose. I have been using this type of knife since I was younger. I used to slice onions, vegetables, peel yams, potatoes, and even bread because I didn't have a bread knife.

I enjoy the ease, the flexibility, and all the safety this knife gives me when working with it. I feel safe with it.


20231026_101606.jpg

I invite @ruthjoe @ukagod @eliany

Sort:  
Loading...

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

TEAM 5

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator07 We support quality posts, good comments anywhere, and any tags.



SEARCH team.png

Curated by : @nahela

Thank you ma'am

Saludos @ninapenda, el mantener la higiene en la cocina es muy importante, porque se evita que se acumule insectos en el área de la cocina.

Tener siempre pendiente que la comida recalentada, no es buena para la salud.

Your detailed explanation shows that you understand what was taught well in this lesson. Keeping dirty dishes is a sign of laziness and it is a bad practice in which many people are guilty of. With this article, many will learn good hygiene. Thank you for sharing and many success in the contest!

Thank you so much my friend!

Most welcome!

Saludos amiga
Que buena práctica nos muestras hoy.
Los alimentos debemos taparlo muy bien y congelarlos, . igualmente lavar los platos y todos los implementos de cocina una vez que terminamos de cocinar o de comer si quedan sucios atraen a las cucarachas y estás dan disversas enfermedades

Hygiene, storage and time needed are basic issues when we prepare food, I absolutely agree with you.

Keeping small or regular dust bins at the kitchen I think it's necessary, I mean we should properly take all organic waste at due time, especially from carnic products, which are the ones that produce the most contamination when starting to biodegrade.

Chef knife is very useful and practical for many uses.

Best wishes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60164.54
ETH 2420.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43