You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Has a Bullying Problem

in #bullying7 years ago

I'm sorry, but there's no such thing as "online bullying". You can mute people, flag them, ignore them. They have 0 bearing on your life. If someone commits suicide or shoots people because someone was mean to them on the internet, than the problem is with them. They should see a shrink.

What Steemit might have a problem with is nepotism. Seeing you get flagged is no joy to me, but neither is flagging others for being "offensive". Offence is not given, it is taken.

Sort:  

I defintely understadn where you are coming from as that is a common feeling about it.

And sometimes it is because of seeing that shrink that they actually commit suicide. Those pills they prescribe give suicidal thoughts to people. It is how I lost my cousin Michael last year. That's what happened to him.

Appreciate you caring buddy.

Well, sorry about your cousin, but again, it was him that had psychological issues. I don't know what could've been done to save him, but being PC is not a solution. That just forcing people to censor themselves.

The only limits on free speech that I'm willing to give into are direct calls to violence or straight up plagiarism. Calling people cunts and stuff like that are just insults. You either grow a thicker skin or ignore them. Everyone has the right to insult anyone they wish. They will suffer societal repercussions, as in they'll not get invited to parties and have no friends and stuff like that, but they shouldn't be fired or prosecuted.

Hence, I retain my position on the issue. You have the same right to "bully" anyone you wish as well in my book. Neither such bully will be considered a good person, but I don't think they should be censored either.

Also, regarding your point about the media. Who cares what the media thinks? They're as out of touch with reality they've ever been. Fuck the media! If they criticise something, then I know that's the best place to be.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60986.47
ETH 2413.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59