Discovering Bugs

in #bugs5 years ago

Another post about code right? Why do you guys still follow me, my rants aren't that fun to read about(at least I don't think so).

Source

But haha, I've been having a "fun" day. Earlier today I decided to fix one of the bugs in one of my codebase. Now this bug wasn't a major one, and it was just causing multiple entries to be made in the DB. That wasn't a problem at all as those would be cleared out in due time. And since I was nowhere near the storage limits for the server, I had no need to fix it.

But I decided that fixing that one bug would be what I do today. Whats the saying, if it can be done in under 20 minutes do it now? TERRIBLE idea.

Now this thing I was working on was an autovoter that followed some guidelines. Pretty simple right? I did what I needed to do to fix it, and deployed it. Problem solved, I can go back to relaxing and patting myself on the back for a job well done.

WRONG!!!

The old method used a library created by someone else and I basically rewrote a very small part of it myself. But I forgot to change one thing. Only look for root posts instead of all posts. So both posts and comments were being voted. Easy fix for that too right? Added 3 lines in and boom, life's all good.

Nope, this too was broken for some reason. I found the problem and fixed it(typed one word wrong) and have yet to deploy it(will do soon after posting this), but you fix 1 bug and create 3 more.

So thats been my day. What about you?

Sort:  

Testing something, #weedcash.

Yes, some days one step forward and two steps back.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yup, and all this can be avoided by less reliance on third party libraries. This one hasn't been maintained in over a year, and it gave me problems on an old project too. I used it for a quick and dirty way to get something up and running and look at what it did.

Posted using Partiko Android

So true, but we are not able to always write our own:weary:

Posted using Partiko Android

Definatley, I use larger modukes that are well maintained but these smaller ones are where rhe problems happen.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi, @rishi556!

You just got a 3.33% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations @rishi556! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 3000 replies. Your next target is to reach 3250 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

You got voted by @curationkiwi thanks to Princess! This bot is managed by KiwiJuce3 and run by Rishi556, you can check both of them out there. To receive upvotes on your own posts, you need to join the Kiwi Co. Discord and go to the room named #CurationKiwi. Submit your post there using the command "!upvote (post link)" to receive upvotes on your post. CurationKiwi is currently supported by donations from users like you, so feel free to leave an upvote on our posts or comments to support us!

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @curationkiwi, @sbi-booster.

Well said, easy narration....Keep it up!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46