You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are You Looking to Spiritual Practice When You Should Be Seeking Therapy?

in #buddhism6 years ago

By "post-traumatic world view," I didn't mean to imply the suffering that comes from beating yourself up over having PTSD or thinking that you won't ever feel any different. I meant the view that we are in constant danger, that others are undeserving of our trust, and that we must remain hypervigilant at all times to ensure our safety.

In what ways have you found therapy helpful to you in working on C-PTSD?

Sort:  

Hyper vigilance - that is PTSD. Suffering would be adding stuff on top of hyper vigilance.

Therapy and medication. I don't take anti-depressants. I take Prazosin, which is a high blood pressure medication, that is for nightmares, Gabapentin for sleep along with a antihistamine - cyproheptadine - for sleep. Therapy really helps have someone to talk to because my trauma is not over. The perpetrator is still in my family's life. Buddhism helps me to drop it after I'm done talking about it rather than ruminating about it.

I don't have hyper vigilance anymore and I attribute that to sticking with therapy for 30 years. It takes long time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99