83 Problems

in #buddhism6 years ago (edited)

buddha-face-title.jpg

I have been studying Buddhism for most of my life at this point. At first much of my study was from books. Later, I gained direct teachers. In the US I studied under a Zen master for a couple years. In Japan I did as well. One of my good friends is a former Shingon monk—a serious one as opposed to most of them in this country. I learn from him every time we meet.

Am I then a Buddhist? I don't know. What I do know is I am a student and I am always learning—about Buddhism, about everything.

This morning as my youngest naps, I thought I would type up one of my favorite Buddhist stories. I first read this from and am copying it from Buddhism Plain and Simple by Steve Hagen, but it is a common story and I have heard it in many other places (all slightly different).

This is a wonderful story with an equally wonderful lesson.

There's an old story about a man who came to see the Buddha because he had heard that the Buddha was a great teacher. Like all of us he had some problems in his life, and he thought the Buddha might be able to help him straighten those out.

He told the Buddha that he was a farmer. "I like farming," he said "but sometimes it doesn't rain enough, and my crops fail. Last year we nearly starved. And sometimes it rains too much, so my yields aren't what I'd like then to be."

The Buddha patiently listened to the man.

"I'm married too," said the man. "She's a good wife... I love her in fact. But sometimes she nags me too much. And sometimes I get tired of her."

The Buddha listened quietly.

"I have kids," said the man. "Good kids, too... but sometimes they don't show me enough respect. And sometime...."

The man went on like this, laying out his difficulties and worries. Finally he wound down and waited for the Buddha to say the words that would put everything right for him.

Instead the Buddha said "I can't help you."

"What do you mean?" said the astonished man.

"Everybody's got problems." said the Buddha. "In fact, we've all got 83 problems. Each one of us. Eighty-three problems and there's nothing you can do about it. If you work really hard on one of them, maybe you can fix it—but if you do, another one will pop right into it's place. For example, you're going to lose your loved ones eventually. And you're going to die someday. Now there's a problem, and there's nothing you or I, or anyone else, can do about it."

The man became furious. "I thought you were a great teacher" he shouted. "I thought you could help me! What good are your teachings then?"

The Buddha said, "Well, maybe it will help you with the 84th problem."

"The 84th problem?" said the man. "What's the 84th problem?"

Said the Buddha "You want to not have any problems."

(title graphic photo released to the public domain by Charles Rondeau, available here)

Hi thereDavid LaSpina is an American photographer lost in Japan, trying to capture the beauty of this country one photo at a time.
Sort:  
Loading...

What a lovely story, funny too.

I deal with my problems by knowing they could be much much worse.

cheers
buddha transparent.png

SIGNATURE.png

haha that is one way to deal with them :)

What a beautiful story. I hadn't heard it before. Interesting how closely it is related to some of the principles of ACT-theory that I apply in my art-therapy practice. Thank you for sharing. May you have 83 problems!

I don't know anything of ACT-theory, but having studied some psychology in college, I was always impressed at how similar some therapies were to Buddhist ideas. No mystery there, I guess: No doubt that was an influence from former hippie psychology researchers.

I love this. Resteeming for the sake of solving the 84th problem.

Thank you :)

What fun is life if everything is easy? What whould one do if here was no challenges to overcome? What whould we do if we had no goals?
(just to embrace the philosophic spammers :P )
I prefer to view it as challenges as opose to problems. As then it includes posible improvements to be done.

That is a great way to look at things!

@therealwolf 's created platform smartsteem scammed my post this morning (mothersday) that was supposed to be for an Abused Childrens Charity. Dude literally stole from abused children that don't have mothers ... on mothersday.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@prometheusrisen/beware-of-smartsteem-scam

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63519.79
ETH 3073.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82