Bucket List Challenge

in #bucketlist7 years ago (edited)
I was nominated to participate in this Bucket List Challenge by @eaglespirit. The best I can tell, the challenge originated with this post by @nomadicsoul. If that is incorrect, please let me know!

The goal of this challenge is to create a list of things we would like to do before we "kick the bucket, which is a slang term for "die." Hence, the "Bucket List." It has taken me all freaking day to compose this list, look up images to use in this post, note the source of the images/data I used, and write a paragraph about each one, but still, this list is by no means exhaustive. The first few items ended up being places I would like to visit, so the list blossomed along that vein. Also, the list is in no particular order.

This is also a list of things that I'd like to do if I could. However, I am much too poor, and much too old, for most of these things to be a feasible reality. Even if I were younger and had gobs of money, many areas of the world are too dangerous for a lone traveler, particularly an American, and especially a woman! But still, here is the list:


Machu Picchu

MachuPicchu.jpg
photo from hdwalls99.blogspot.com

Machu Picchu is a site in Peru, built by the Inca. I do not know why, but every time I see a photograph of Machu Picchu, my heart leaps in my breast. Check out this fascinating travel guide to the area. Of particular interest to me (if I were fit enough for the arduous hike) would be visiting the Temple of the Moon, on the northern face of Huayna Picchu, the nearby tall peak just behind the ruins.

India / Nepal

Khajuraho.jpg
photo by HI DESTINATION MANAGEMENT PVT. LTD

For decades, the culture of Mother India has fascinated me. I find the history of the country interesting, and the traditional clothing and jewelry of the women are so beautiful! Some of the world's oldest scriptures and religions originated in India, and I have followed one of those religions for many years. The architecture of the temples is amazing, and I would love to visit some of them! The ancient Sanskrit language has lent influence to many of today's current languages. The Indian cuisine is delicious, too!

Ireland

Knockagarrane.jpg
photo © megalithics.com

The rolling hills and the lush greenery seem so charming and inviting. I would love to see the old stone circles and quaint lanes that wind through the countryside. Some of my Scottish ancestors lived in Ireland for a period of time in the mid-to-late 1700s, prior to immigrating to North America, and it would be lovely to visit the areas where they lived.

The Pyramids

Pyramids.jpg
photo from Azure Travel (Pty) Ltd

The Pyramids of Egypt and The Sphinx would be wonderful things to see in-person some day! I have been fascinated by the pyramids, hieroglypics, and Khemetic religion since I was a child.

Four Corners

PuebloArroyo.jpg
Pueblo Arroyo, photo © James Q. Jacobs


image source: Wikimedia Commons
The "Four Corners" region is that area of the southwestern US where the states of Arizona, Utah, Colorado, and New Mexico intersect. There is much beauty and history in that region, from the canyons of Utah to the ancient Pueblo cultures of New Mexico. An elder Native American lady gifted me several years ago with a couple of pottery shards from the Old Ones who lived in that region, centuries ago. In Chaco Canyon, the Puebloans built structures that align with celestial events (e.g.: solstices, equinoxes, etc.) centuries ago. [source]

Angkor Wat

AngkorWat.jpg
photo © aquaticscambodia.blogspot.com

Wikipedia states that Angkor Wat is the "largest religious monument in the world, on a site measuring 162.6 hectares (1,626,000 m2; 402 acres)." It was originally built by the decree of King Suryavarman II in the early 12th century as a Vaishnava temple, but was transformed later into a Buddhist temple. It was never completely abandoned, but has fallen into some neglect. Still, photos reveal a magnificent structure that is acessible by travelers.

Prague

Prague.jpg
photo from tremendouswallpapers.com

I think it would be fascinating to visit one of the Old World cities that are packed with history. Prague is just one of many possibilities, which also includes Budapest, Sofia, Istanbul, and others.

Pacific Northwest

VoodooDonut.jpg
photo by: businessinsider.com

I have heard the city of Portland, Oregon, is lovely. Besides several well critiqued cafes and bistros, Portland is home to Voodoo Doughnut, which I have heard has exceptional doughnuts. Not far away is Mount Saint Helens, and then Multnomah Falls along the Columbia River. Across the river in Washington state is a memorial replica of Stonehenge in Maryville, a quaint roadside attraction. Then there is the enormous Mount Rainer, and the Seattle area which features the famous Pike's Market.

Temple of Sekhmet

SekhmetTemple.jpg
photo © Temple of Goddess Spirituality

Situated in the Mojave Desert in the state of Nevada is an oasis where a tiny town was settled. One of the residents has built a small temple which is dedicated to the feminine aspect of The Divine. It is very small and quaint, but looks so delightful and charming! There is a small guest house on the property that provides accomodations for visitors, and the property has a fire pit and other simple amenities for a retreat. One day, I will tell the story of my connection with Bastet, the sister of Sehkmet.

cemeteries

Cemetery.jpg
photo by me

There are many cemeteries over the southeastern US where ancestors of mine are buried. I have been to some of those cemeteries but not all of them. In fact, I don't know if it would be possible to visit them all, but I would like to visit more of them than I have so far. I attempted to visit a specific one several years ago, but could not reach it because I discovered a four-wheel drive vehicle was needed to get to the remote location (I had no clue the terrain was that bad until I attempted it). Some of the cemeteries are hundreds of miles apart, so it would take lot of driving, but I hope to visit at least a couple more, someday.

By the way, there is a website called Find a Grave that has photographs of many headstones and markers from cemeteries around the US. I have found quite a number of my ancestors' graves pictured there while doing genealogy research. Not all cemeteries are yet on the site, and some that are there have not yet been completely photographed. But still, it is a wonderful reference for anyone doing research into their family tree! Anyone can sign-up and contribute photos if they have them, and some people with spare time do so out of kindness, to help others.


My Nominations

I nominate these people to do their own Bucket List:

elegantULTAVIOLET-1769669_1280.png

TheAlliance-banner++.png

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

LadiesOfSteemit-03.jpg

STEEMIT-BLOGGERS-GIF-2.gif

Sort:  

Great post! Gotta work on my list too. :)

Awwwwwww, all those places are really calling for a visit. I hope we both get a chance to see them 💚

Thats a great list, I have been fortunate to see quite a few of them but i wish you all the best to be able to check the all off your list with time

This is such a fun and interesting challenge that I am going to participate in later!! I would also love to go to Machu Pichu! I have been to Angkor Wat and highly recommend it! It's so magical :)

Nice list, loads of historical places @thekittygirl our ancestors come from far and wide.

A "bucket list" for me would be longer than the page, mostly I would be outdoors in wide open spaces watching the Northern Lights or seeing a live animal I have never seen before, could be one long, long trip.

yay @kittygirl thank you for participating i really loved the Wat location and The Divine place in Nevada. Woop! Now I have more to add to my list ... wow regarding graves. :o

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Please check this Breaking News!

Those all sound like awesome places to visit. Especially Machu Picchu, that looks amazing. I like big mountains. Before I die I'd really like to visit the mountains in Switzerland. I've seen pictures of Switzerland from people I'm following here on Steemit and it looks incredible.

I live in Portland, and most folks I know agree that Sesame Donuts are actually way better. Voodoo has huge lines—mostly tourists—but their doughnuts are novel, rather than exceptionally delicious.

I would love to go to some of those places in the list, especially Machu Picchu!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67315.59
ETH 2604.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71