COVER Maybe this time, from the musical CABARET

in #broadway6 years ago (edited)


Hello, everyone!

First of, I wanted to let you know that due to the reception of my last musical theatre related video (I got curied! Woohoooooo!) I decided to start a segment on my blog about Musical Theatre.

Basically I plan to talk to you about my favourite musicals, write a little review about them so you can all learn a bit more about musical theatre (I’m not an expert just an avid Wikipedia reader… as much as any theatre kid out there that doesn’t live near Broadway or West End), and maybe even showcase some of my favourite showtunes as well.

I want to get better at singing and I’m still learning, especially the formal aspect of music, so I would also like to talk a little bit about musical theory around here.

I expect some of you will enjoy this segment and hopefully get interested in the marvelous world of musical theatre as well :)

Now let’s get to business.


Today I am singing “Maybe this time”, from the musical Cabaret.

This song is, without a doubt, one of the most popular pieces of Musical Theatre, and it’s considered “overdone” as an audition song D: I still love it and sing it a lot.

Original_movie_poster_for_Cabaret.jpg
Source:

The musical is one of my favourite, I consider it a classic, and it encompasses all of the elements that I personally deem relevant for a show to have to catch my attention: the songs are memorable, the plotline is strong and emotional and the topics are controversial, always leave you thinking and reflecting about human nature.

Cabaret is a musical that debuted in 1966 and has won 8 Tony Awards since then. The music is by John Kander, the lyrics are by Fred Ebb, and the book by Joe Masteroff. There is also a very well known musical film from 1972 (which is the one I saw originally because it’s more accessible than seeing the live show), directed by Bob Fosse and which starred the great Liza Minnelli, Michael York, and Joel Grey.

Fun fact!

Three of the most famous songs of the film: "Mein Herr", "Money", and "Maybe This Time", were not in the original stage production, but after their appearance in the film they were incorporated to the subsequent productions, including the revivals.

If you want to learn more about Cabaret, check their site here

I think the difficulty of this song lies on its emotionality; it’s deep and emotionally charged. I guess that’s why in some auditions they prevent auditionees to sing it if they are not “the appropriate age”, because the emotion of the song suggests a kind of maturity and expertise in life, in love and in heartbreak that is usually related to age.

I love this song, and I feel somewhat identified with the feeling of self worth that we feel when we fall in love. This a powerful tune and it also serves me right for practising my belting technique and powering my chest voice.

I hope that you enjoy it. Let me know if you do in the comments!

  • If you want to know more about belting technique check out my last entry here where I talk about it and also recommend some reading. On that link you will also find my last video, in which I perform a song from Waitress the Musical.

  • The filter I added to the video is courtesy of Kawping

Last but not least, I’d like to thank the @Curie curator that upvoted my previous video, it felt amazing to see that one of my posts got such response and it encouraged me to keep making quality content and sharing with all of you the things that I love and feel passionate about.

If you like what you hear, an upvote and/or a comment would be most welcome, it encourages me and I always appreciate receiving constructive criticism.

And if you want to see more content, follow me on @lilixblack to see what I'm up to.

See you next time!

Alicia


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Wow, what a detailed and excellent post! And an excellent song as well. Upvoted!

your singing is so amazing! ♥

Thank you bb :*

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59159.54
ETH 2599.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42