COVER What baking can do, from Waitress the Musical!

in #broadway6 years ago (edited)


Hi, everyone!

As some of you know, I'm interested in Musical Theatre. I've been really obsessed with Waitress the Musical lately (for like, the past 2 years heh). I adore the lyrics and the music and I wish I can someday see the show live!

If you are wondering what Waitress is, it's a 2015 stage production based on a 2007 film of the same name. The amazing music and lyrics are by Sara Bareilles and the book by Jessie Nelson. So, in other words, it's a musical play, nominated to 4 Tony Awards and also a Grammy Award.

If you wanna know more about Waitress the Musical click here

Some of the songs are really hard to sing! But I enjoy them so much, many of them have become part of my shower repertoire.

On another note, I've been taking some time today to work on my belting technique, so I thought I might show you where I'm at. For those of you who don't know

Belting is a singing technique where singers incorporate their chest or mix voice with big volume and good breath support to sing sustained notes


My voice it's not at its best today (you can hear it sounds a little throaty sometimes and also the fact that I feel a bit nervous in front of the camera doesn't help :P), but I felt like recording it anyways and take this video as a way of measuring my progress within the next months. I know I have a lot to improve, especially because lately I've noticed I struggle with my head voice (though through most of this song I use mixed voice). By the way, if you notice some grimacing it's not because I hurt or feel uncomfortable, that's just the face I make when I'm really feeling the song haha

I hope I can keep uploading more videos soon (and hopefully get a proper sound and recording equipment D:)
P.S: I added a filter courtesy of Kapwing

If you'd like to read more about belting or other singing techniques, click here

If you like what you hear, an upvote and/or a comment would be most welcome, it encourages me and I always appreciate receiving constructive criticism.

And if you want to see more content, follow me on @lilixblack to see what I'm up to.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Fantastic. You're really good with your face while you're singing, which I'm sure is the theater in you. A lot of musicians could use some theater training. :) Excellent song.

Thanks, I really appreciate your comment! Many people say I make too many faces haha but somehow I think that's what makes it sound good, since my instrument is inside my body, the way that I move pretty much influences the sound. I will try to post more songs about that musical, it's very "theatrical" haha

Wow, I think I'm love....

Haha, seriously, you have talent! I really think that if you start making videos with a little bit more production you will be a great success here in Steemit!

You have a fan here @lillixblack :)

Hahaha thanks. I will try to find some equipment soon, but in the mean time, I'll keep uploading videos as much as I am able :)

I'm looking fwd to see them! Cheers :)

This. Is. Just. Amazing.

YOU ARE AWESOME, Ali!

Thank you <3

Hi, lilixblack! I just resteemed your post to more than 3400 followers!
I can also re-steem and upvote some of your other posts for just 0.02 SBD/Steem

Plis vote back .. Thnks

You are a really good singer

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59169.46
ETH 2597.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42