Britishisms - Not my cup of tea ☕

in #british8 years ago

In Britain we drink a huge amount of tea, whenever you visit someone it is customary to offer them tea. So you may be thinking where does the saying Not my cup of tea come from?

Well just imagine that everyone in a room has a cup of tea and the host has used their best china (tea cups) which are a matching set of course and look identical. You take a couple of sips out of the cup, go to the bathroom(toilet) and return to where you were sitting. Expecting to see a nearly full cup of tea, you glance down and see an empty cup of tea!!!! The outrage and first thoughts running through your head would be

THAT IS NOT MY CUP OF TEA

You would be correct as it would have been social suicide to drink someone else's tea. What you would be looking at is someone else's cup nearby your own cup, and you would quickly realise that your own cup is in the position and volume you left it previously.

This saying has existed for thousands of years and if someone says it is not my cup of tea it means that it is not to their liking. If they say that it is my cup of tea then it is something to their liking.

Follow @opheliafu 🎨 for great art and follow me @cryptofunk

Sort:  

Lol, so this is what you have been up to today!

As you know, it's usually the case that I put my cup of tea next to my painting water, and wash my brush out a few times and drink it before I realise I'm drinking purple tea!

We have plenty of spare tea bags in our house, look at what @opheliafu has done with some of them https://steemit.com/art/@opheliafu/fancy-a-cuppa

It is same here in Bhutan. If you visit someone, the first thing they offer you is a cup of tea. Sounds like a similar tea offering culture.

That's good to know, I will bare that in mind. I would love to travel around the far east one day and visit Bhutan too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61604.80
ETH 3444.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50