I count myself a survivor

in #breastcancer6 years ago

I screamed as the first bowl of water went down my body, it sent chills down my body. The second and third one went down fast, having my bath has always been dramatic for me.

Next was to make the bar soap go round my skin and I did that in slow motion just like I had seen in commercials and when it got to my right breast, I felt something unusual.

It was a ball-like feeling, i went to my left breast but nothing was there,i kept on touching it to be sure my mind wasn't playing tricks.
I hurriedly finished bathing, dried up my skin, went back to touch my right breast and it was still there.

I was scared, I didn't know who to talk to. It was on my mind all day, all week and every other day of my life.

I was 15
image
source

I learnt about lumps and breast cancer from movies and awareness programs and it scares the shit out of me, I felt like I was to young to be sick.

I held on to my fear for 2years and being someone who believed so much in God and in miracles, I was hoping it would one day disappear and my teenage life would be back to normal.

I got into the university and one day I started feeling a sharp pain in my chest, I thought the lump was at work, I picked up my smart phone and for the first time I read about lumps and I finally had the courage to see the doctor.

I told the doctor about the pain in my chest and i needed to confirm of there's a lump In my breast. He checked and told me I have a lump that needed to be removed. I was asked to get consent from from my breast lump for a breast lump excision.

I called my dad to tell him, my guardian suggested I went for a proper scan to be sure the lump wasn't cancerous which I did.

A week later, I went for the breast lump excision and we were done in less than 15 minutes. The lump was fortunately uncancerous. It would have been if I had let it stay longer.
image
source

I told friends about it and I had a couple of people open up to be about a lump in their breast. You have no idea how many people were as scared as I was but I encouraged them to run a test and get the lump out.

It's still breast Cancer awareness month.

Help save yourself today.

Open up!
image

Sort:  

Hello @vheobong your post has been featured on the Stach Post Review Article--Link to post.
Thanks for using the Stach Tag.
Keep Being Creative!.

Courtesy - Stach Curation team

Nice write up friend...

Thanks dear

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Praise God for this narrow escape! Thank God that you aren't the nonchalant type. So happy for you darling.

#Bigwaves

Thank you ma...

I hope more people find the courage to see a doctor

And they had to use lemons.

More and more people need to read this especially among the women folk.

I hope they get to see it

Thanks for this awareness campaign @vheobong. A stitch in time indeed saves nine.

Glad you got it checked out before it got worse :)

Very informative one here..... thanks @vheobong for this one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60915.40
ETH 2627.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58