What do you eat for Breakfast? What would you recommend? Looking for some halp!!!

in #breakfast7 years ago (edited)

Hey all. Soooo I don't eat breakfast... Yeah....

I am not hungry in the morning. But I keep reading stuff that says you should eat breakfast because it will help you be more awake and focused throughout the day.

Almost every day here is what I have in the morning. A 4c energy packet(the non-sugar one) mixed into 18 oz of water, sometimes one cup of coffee with no sugar/cream, and sometimes a glass of water. Then I eat a 900 to 1,000 calorie lunch, same with dinner.

I feel really tired after I eat lunch. I have to eat a big lunch because I don't eat breakfast!!! this is a very odd place for me to be, but it is how I have been for the last 15 or so years. I just don't eat breakfast. I also have some odd food allergy to gluten, maybe not an allergy but a minor reaction happens if I had a lot of it. If I eat a ton of pizza I get some red bumps on my hands. And gluten food and wheat food seems to make me really tired.

If I eat spaghetti or wheat products I get so sleepy that I have to take a nap. I am not really talking about over-eating either, obviously that would make most sleepy... I dunno. If I eat meat and veggies I don't have any red bumps or ever really feel tired. Eating fruit seems to also break my skin out, having anything with sugar in it seems to do this to me.

What do you all eat, and should I be eating breakfast? I guess I need something gluten free, not really sure where to start for healthy breakfast....

Looking forward to your responses :)

Sort:  

Avoid meat and animal proteins too much. It's better to eat things with wholegrain like Bircher muesli.

Try to eat some indian breakfast dishes like Dosa, I am sure you you love it. Just a change from normal breakfast foods.

I really do enjoy indian food. hmm. I will have to look into this!

I skip breakfast like 90 percent of the time, but when I do end up eating it I just stick with scrambled eggs with cheese, bacon and toast. Occasionally I just get some thin steaks and cook those with fried eggs too. I'm very, very healthy as you can tell, lol.

Hehe, well the health part takes time. I am like 60% unhealthy in what I eat and 40% healthy I would estimate. I usually have fast food for lunch and that kinda costs 6 to 7 dollars usually. I have been thinking about what I would switch to.

Lunch meat has TONS of salt in it and I am trying to reduce my salt intake. It's almost like I need to cook up a ton of chicken/steak/porkchops, put in freezer, then bring to work for lunch. I can't imagine cooking every day for my lunch lol. Too lazy.

Maybe now is the time to invest in another glass baking dish, put two in the oven and cook a bunch at once!

I just have a bowl of dank memes sprinkled with Kek Sauce- aka puffed chocolate rice with milk, kinda like Rice Krispies but chocolate and organic. Tastes good with sliced bananas.

Mmm dat does sound good mah boi!

It's like jet fuel for the stomach

They're hard to get tho, only certain chains carry it.

You don't need to have breakfast. The advice you hear is a myth:

https://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2016/nov/28/breakfast-health-america-kellog-food-lifestyle

When you spend over 14 hrs fasting you may be on a state of Ketosis, especially if you've done that for years. Being in Ketosis is basically using fats to produce energy instead of glucose (sugar). There is solid research on the benefits of relying on ketones to produce energy.

I've been basically doing the same thing as you, for a year and half now. It's called intermittent fasting. Having a window of 4-6 hours of eating and then nothing besides coffee/tea. And it feels great.

I also avoid sugars (fructose is considered sugar too, even if it's in fruits). From an evolutionary perspective you're doing things right. Our diet relied on proteins, fats and above-ground plants long before we discovered agriculture and grains 10,000 years ago.

For more info, look up Dr. Dominic D'Agostino, he's doing research on keto diets and how it may prevent cancer cells.

You can start with this podcast if you're into podcasts: https://tim.blog/2016/07/06/dom-dagostino-part-2/

Look, don't believe the "breakfast is the most important meal of the day" bullshit. Most things you hear about nutrition even from "official" sources is BS and broscience. As long as you get enough nutrients you are a-ok, even if you only have 1-2 meals a day. Exceptions apply to athletes, people with certain conditions etc.

I am on a low carb diet so I will either have 3-4 eggs with a fruit, or 30 g of corned beef with a fruit. Both options provide plenty of complete protein, are low on calories and low on carbs. 2-3 hours later I ll have a glass of kefir.

P.S: Do some research on celiac disease. You don't say what your symptoms are when eating gluten so I can't think of something else. Of course it could be that you just eat too many carbs which messes up your blood sugar levels, making you sleepy and lethargic :)

And let me give you an example of why most stuff you hear on nutrition is bullshit. Have you ever seen this picture?

This is the tongue-sense map. They teached us about the tongue-senses map in elementary, middle and highschool. And then I encountered it again during a course on my Master's on nutrition. Guess what? It's bullshit, but many still teach it, even on Master courses!

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tongue_map

Each part of the tongue can detect each flavour!

yeah when I was told about the map I called bullshit on it

I think it is just too many carbs. I got a red bump on the top of my hand like a bug bite size(maybe a little smaller). I got a few others ones too. They go away after a few days.

I would suggest eating a small breakfast (no aspartame sugar sub) and skipping lunch and having a regular sized dinner. Studies have shown fasting, even as short as 6-8 hours is very beneficial to the immune system and can actually help your body regenerate. This also helps your body enter ketosis which helps your body burn body fat rather than storing it. Once you get in a rhythm it makes it a lot easier to keep your eating habits. One thing I find useful is to try to remind myself that eating is for nutrition, not for pleasure (even tho some times that is ok). Also as always, lots of water!

I skip breakfast every day except for weekends. Then I just eat eggs. When I was younger (in middle school), I used to make an egg and toast sandwich every day which was nice since I could eat it as I walked to school. You could get one of those microwave egg molds and then cook toasts and eggs while you shower then have a sammich. It's much cheaper than a Jimmy Dean and you only have to worry about gluten if you add gluten.

Anyways, you should probably see a dermatologist. They probably would be able to identify the source of your red bumps. Popcorn does not have gluten but it is technically a wheat, so be careful always assuming wheat have gluten.

Careful you aren't overspending for non-sense gluten frees, no such thing as a non-gluten yogurt, but yet you'll see gluten-free on them... Themoaruno, themoaruKhols.

I cannot win with this stoof! I will just drink water from now on lol.

Straight Black Coffee for breakfast, skip lunch, intermittent fasting. Boom. I do this %75 of the time, and I feel so much better. I used to eat lunch everyday, but like you got super tired. Now I just do basically one meal a day, for the most part, cheat on the weekends, and I have so much more energy.

Oooo I get hungry for lunch, I don't think i can skip it!!

Haha, it blows the first day. But once you do it, no biggie. It's fun to deprive yourself!

Hmmmmm......Interesting.
Now Plz Folow me I am New ...I will Follow you.

Don't follow beg. Flagged. Also upvoted all other comments so yours is last.

hahahahahhahahahahahah

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66094.73
ETH 3446.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66