💸 Earn crypto & surf privately 🔒 with the Brave Browser

in #brave6 years ago (edited)

I've been using the Brave browser for a while, because,

  • it allows you to open private tabs (which are connected to the TOR browser and which I guess might replace the need for VPN's one day) and
  • in the near future we will be compensated for allowing ads in our feed. And if we don't want to see ads, that's also fine, then we just switch them off in the settings.

Basically we can choose to get paid simply for surfing the internet

Some of these features are still in development, but one thing that already works now, is the possibility to contribute to our favorite publishers online. Whether that is a Youtuber you're subscribed to, or a website owner whose content you enjoy.

Screen Shot 2018-07-23 at 23.16.49.png

Register as a Brave publisher if you have a website or youtube channel

That also means, that if YOU are the owner of a website, blog or youtube channel - you can now give your followers and fans a super easy way to support you. All you have to do is register as a publisher through the Brave browser. [Thanks to @condeas who posted about this recently.]

And all your fans have to do is include your url in their list of sites they want to support.

Screen Shot 2018-07-24 at 10.42.22.png

I registered my website and my youtube channel yesterday and it was super simple.

BAT - Basic Attention Token

That is the name of Brave's cryptocurrency.

You will be asked to link your Uphold account (or open one if you don't have one yet) during the setup process, because that's where the BAT payments will be made to. So basically you can always cash out your BATs and exchange them for Bitcoin or your local Fiat currency. When I was done, I already found 38 BAT in my Brave wallet!

Before I cash out, I will first set up my list of sites I want to support, though. There are a number of youtube channels I regularly watch, and I would love to give back a little for all the free information I receive from them.

You can see which ones are already registered by the green check mark on the left.

Screen Shot 2018-07-24 at 10.44.05.png

Will this accelerate mainstream adoption of crypto?

I think so. While I was setting all of this up and noticed how easy it was, I had a feeling that this would accelerate things a LOT.

Since it's easily visible who is already registered, we can actively let those people know. If I want to support someone and notice they can't receive my payments yet, I can just let them know I want to support them. It's all cents, but many cents from many people might amount to substantial income for them.

(Btw, @roxane, @surfermarly, @heiditravels - have you registered your youtube channels yet? I would like to include you in my list :)

It's like a Spotify subscription

With Spotify, you pay a monthly subscription in order to stream music from loads of artists (if you want an ad free experience). Sadly those artists don't really see much income from that.

With Brave, you set your own monthly budget, and it gets distributed to the publishers that you choose. Plus, you can first earn that budget by allowing a few ads, so it doesn't even have to come out of your own pocket - how cool is that? And hopefully you'll have something left over, so in the end it's a win-win for everyone.

Screen Shot 2018-07-24 at 13.31.39.png

Don't you just love the future??

Two weeks ago I shared that we can now get paid for googling. Seriously, Presearch makes it possible.

But the Brave Browser takes things to a whole new level.

Sort:  

wow. This does look really cool! I will definitely try to assign some Basic Attention to this (thats about all Ive got at the moment!). Certainly looks like a forward thinking project...... I tried to do another sporadic episode of steemfest journey recently but my computer just KEEPS crashing while Im exporting it :( :( :( so frustrating

Oh I’m glad you saw this, @basilmarples! Let me know when you’ve registered so I can include you in my list, too!

hey anja! so....I just downloaded brave and then I searched your youtube channel but its just listed it as youtube.com in my payments section (as opposed to your specific channel). Seems like a cool browser so far though.....pretty exciting! I just want to make sure Im using it right......

ah no no don't worry, I see its added you now! yay!

Yay! Did you get BAT tokens when you signed up? I hope so. Curious to know how many - because I'm not sure where mine came from - whether I had "earned" them before (since I had been using the browser for a while, but without registering), or if everyone gets them as a sign-up gift.

What's your youtube channel or website? Let me add you, too. (It doesn't allow Dtube yet :D )

Oh and can you send me the link to your "I am lost" song? Why can't I find it anymore??? I need it urgently! XD

ahhh! youre so sweet anja, haha. I hope youre not TOO lost!!

heres my original recording of the song on youtube:

this is the slower Dsound version which you can download: https://dsound.audio/#!/@basilmarples/lost--waiting

that first link will take you to my youtube channel :) And as far as brave goes.....It just said that I get like $4 dollars worth or something (15 BAT?) which it looks as if will be used as my first monthly budget. If it doesnt get distributed that said the tokens would be reclaimed by brave. Is this what you mean? I feel a bit like maybe I havnt signed up.....its not like I had to create a password or anything yet

To be honest I haven't figured out the account balances yet - I have those 15 BAT, too, in my balance, but in "total balance" it still says zero. Makes no sense.

Plus, when I log into the publishers dashboard, I have 50 BAT there. Very strange...

Cool, I will add your youtube channel to my Brave-list ;) And your song - it will be my Day 23 song for the 30-day song-challenge ;)

It works

Bildschirmfoto_2018-07-24_18-48-00.png

Anyone who wants to support you can set your website as a homepage in their browser and help you every time the browser is started.

Really? Wow. But that would be too much to ask 😄 Not even I have my own website as my home page 😆😆

Das kannst du ruhig machen, weil dein Browserwallet unabhängig von deinem BravePayments Konto ist.
Von deinem BravePaymentskonto kannst du z.B. dein Browserwallet aufladen, wenn du andere (oder dich selbst) unterstützen möchtest.

Das ist ja wie self-voting auf Steemit... ;)

You have been selected for Sjennon Support of this week!

selected sjennon.png

You will receive an upvote from me on your posts (max. 2 per day) for the coming week! Click here to go to the announcement post.

Feel free to nominate your wonderful friends and who knows? Maybe they will benefit from Sjennon Support next week!

Heyyyy, thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58077.92
ETH 2457.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37