The Issue With Personal Branding

in #branding5 years ago


I'm reading a fascinating book on personal branding called 'Platform'. It's written by arguably one of the most well known branding experts online - Cynthia Johnson.

And while this post could easily become a 1000 word article on how awesome the book is, I'll save that for Friday's @Dtube feature :)

personal branding

In the first chapter of this book...A massive nugget grabbed my attention and I wanted to talk about it today...Rather than wait for Friday...

The topic of personal branding is often misunderstood and I loved this point that Cynthia made...And best of all, I can see how this message can be brought to your journey here on STEEM and help you...Build a better personal brand!

personal branding

Did you catch that?

Personal branding is about making people...More authentic.

It's about growth, autonomy and being an individual that ATTRACTS others...Not by some fancy slogan or marketing message. But by being AUTHENTIC!

I've seen this play a vital role in my development way before I jumped into STEEM. I was a big fan of the 'personal brand'. I waved that flag wherever I went and screamed on the top of mountains that people needed to focus on building their brand.

My old slogan was...Build your brand and build your list (email marketing list).

The issue was that I tried to get people to come up with a fancy logo for their company or brand, and left it at that...I figured, as long as you 'looked good' and had a professional image, everything else would fall into place.

That is just not the case!

Personal branding, which I'm learning much more about, is developing an authentic image not for the sake of 'selling more fidget spinners'...But for building lasting relationships with people!

Here's what Cynthia had to say about that approach to personal branding...

personal branding

No fake it until you make it! No empty promises...

Just being authentic and actually CARING about those around you.

Imagine if that was your personal brand and what you were famous for here on STEEM?

Someone who actually cares for others and their journey...

See this isn't just a good marketing plan, it's the right thing to do. When we focus on showing up everyday, delivering value and adding to others, our personal brand becomes what the author is talking about here.

Cool story Jon...But how does this relate to STEEM?

Community!

If you have been reading my blog or following my journey on STEEM for any amount of time, you will know that I'm huge on...People!

I believe that if we focus our attention on building the relationships with the PEOPLE here on STEEM, everything else will fall into place.

So that comes in the form (for my journey) in...

- Rewarding people that engage with me and the @SteemSavvy community with @SteemBasicIncome units. I believe that our hard work and engagement should be rewarded and if we can find a win-win scenario, we should support that. And SBI provides it in my opinion.

- Highlighting different members of the @SteemSavvy community in the form of featured interviews and articles

- Answering questions and working hard to grow people's Steem Power to 300 via the #RoadTo300SP

- Hanging out on Sunday and Tuesday via live streams and videos...Talking STEEM and sharing experiences with others.

But most importantly...Showing up every day and letting people know...I'm here if you need anything!

Is it working?

Who knows LOL

Seriously though, I'm not keeping score on what people think my 'personal brand is'. I'm too busy trying to add to others STEEM journey. And that's why Cynthia's points about personal branding are so important to me.

It's not about a logo...

It's not about an awesome web design...Or fancy marketing message.

It's about people. Community. Relationships.

And being there for others as much as you can. That's authentic to me. No secret agenda. No snake oil salesman tactics. Just being there for people.

That's how I feel we should be building our personal brands...Right along side each other!


steem training




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://plus1daily.com/the-issue-with-personal-branding/

Sort:  

Just being authentic and actually CARING about those around you

Best way to build brand

Yessir. You just can’t beat it. And you can’t fake it. Steem has some amazing people here. Appreciate you man!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Jon, your are becoming a legend in building an "authentic" brand here on Steem. No doubt about it :)

appreciate that man. thanks for the comments and support.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Authentic works, because in the long run, truth always prevails. Live in truth and people will know what they are getting---and being authentic attracts the right customers, not just random people.

absolutely. perfect way of saying it.

Posted using Partiko iOS

This post hit home for me! You've known me for years now & know this is what I believe in as well. I cannot say enough about being real with people & stress that being your authentic self is truly the only way to go. People can sense fake images or personas very quickly & it helps no one.

Also, no one can bring the world exactly what each of us can, because each & every one is unique & have unique gifts. Caring about others is so important in this mix. That is what the Steem community has given me. We have become a family.

Thank you for writing this, Jon. This will resonate with a lot of readers & personal branding like this is not talked about enough!

thanks for the comments jenn. appreciate that very much. and appreciate all your support and engagement. that’s a huge win in my books for a successful steem journey

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much! I couldn't have done it without your support. ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

honored! you’ve been crushing it and leading by example. so glad you fell for the steem trap lmao 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Lmaooooo. Yes @jonolson I fell for it, hook line & sinker. All your fault 😉 He he. 💞

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for this very interesting article.

Personal branding is about making people...More authentic.

This is a very important message I believe especially coming from a book that treats about Personal Branding. Most of the time such books tell you what you should do and how you should do it to be able to fit a form that was maybe successfull for the author of the book.

I think that authenticity is not so easy to achieve because we often don't trust our instincts. I see a lot of people on steem who write a post every day, even when they have nothing to say. They do it because the book (Possible Titles: Be successfull on social media, How to become an influencer...) that they are reading told them to do so...

Authenticity means to act and live how you really are. If you care about others this will also bring you more attention ... So I believe that the successfull Personal Branding is when you give more than you take.

that’s a great point. it’s something i have done in my years of creating content...i speak on camera the same way i would if i’m
sitting in front of you. if i mess up, i don’t do many reshoots. i just keep going. it’s not the most ‘professional’ approach and i do my best with editing etc.

but it’s me :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Personal branding is the key to success. That's why I never changed my photo over the years now. It's combined with me and when I engage with someone he or she will remember this.

legendary for sure ;) yeah man i think i’d do a double take if you changed that image lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you for this post! I am totally agree with it... and it always comes in my mind that sentence: "Sharing is caring" and Steemit platform is ideal to implement it.. and that can be done only if we are honest and authentic
Only that way we can be "more human" and we can grow like better person...

appreciate the comments :)

and i agree. this is the perfect place to build a personal brand. i think at times it’s too good to be true lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great points made! People started to make the distinction between the carefully built but fake image (i.e. brand) and the authentic you. It sometimes goes beyond personal branding into the companies branding, but it's more obvious for individual branding.

dude you’d love this book. so many nuggets and things that speak to so many business minded individuals. one of the better books i’ve read on the subject.

Posted using Partiko iOS

If STEEM gets millions of users, who will new people look at? They will be looking at accounts of active dolphins and orca's. People that have been here and done that.

But like when i arrived and followed the whales, most of them i have unfollowed as they were in-active or fake. Now the people that i look up to are the ones here every day because they want to. People that have built a brand i can respect and copy. Same will happen in the future. The trick is to do it for the right reasons and people will follow that.

agree so much. i followed a bunch of the bigger accounts here as well when i first joined. unfollowed because they never engaged or responded.

what a wasted opportunity. and i for sure won’t make that mistake lol it’s all about engagement to me and respecting people that take the time to leave comments.

people first. always.

Posted using Partiko iOS

It basically comes down to trust, if you feel that a person is honest and authentic, then you trust them, and that's the kind of people we all want to do business with, thanks @jongolson.

Posted using Partiko Android

yup. agreed and people are smart. they can smell the snake oil salesmen a mile away.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85