Would you rather... be somewhere or someone else?

in #brainwashing5 years ago (edited)

That’s what they usually ask on those pretty Instagram posts. Would you want to be there now? Tag someone you want to go there with!
683B45A8-5E5E-4735-8F27-E0ACB5A9A8B6.jpeg

And my answer is - “No, I wouldn’t.” I don’t want to be in Maldives right now, or in a 5-star hotel in Vegas, or in Paris... I want to be where I am now. Because this is an important moment for me. I am present here. My choices and my decisions brought me here. If my actions, choices, and decisions bring me to Maldives, Australia, the Moon, another realm tomorrow - then be it, then I will be present there.

No point in wanting to run away somewhere “pretty” or “better”. The point is to do all you can the best you can HERE and NOW. Which is exactly what I am striving to do. I’ll be honest - it doesn’t work all the time. I have many faults and weaknesses. I waste time and lose awareness; I get carried away and influenced by many things and phenomena that clearly don’t want me to become a real human being. But I don’t want to run away from it anymore. I don’t want Maldives. I want to be ME.

By the way, an even scarier trend on Instagram is when some model or actress posts a new glamorous photo, and hundreds of young girls and women scream and cry in the comments “OMG I so wanna be her!” Well, omg, too bad for you! Don’t be an idiot. It’s a pity that this society teaches young people and especially women to always want to be someone else.

Sort:  

Yes, flowing with, swimming in gratitude of what is. No past, no future, only the present moment. Living life to its full depth.
The perfection is in the practice. I agree wholeheartedly, there is no one I'd rather be than me, because I am...me. Great thoughts shared. Thank you.

Places are just coordinates. They're all the same as indifferent scenes. Sure some have rolling meadows or bleached sand.

They're all potential tragedies waiting to happen. They're all equally impacted by the physical machinations of entropy.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @araksa-dragonkey! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 700 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 800 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25