Pacquiao robbed in Horn fight? 'You don’t know ish about boxing!'

in #boxing7 years ago (edited)


jeff_horn.jpg

Mismatch

I didn’t stay up to watch the Pacquiao-Horn fight. On paper it looked like an easy money for Manny Pacquiao. Jeff Horn had never been in the ring with anyone of the calibre of multiple weight World Champion Manny Pacquiao. It looked like Manny, in the twilight of his career was cherry picking an opponent he could look good against. I was more interested in seeing who Pacquiao would step up and fight in his next fight. Keith Thurman? Errol Spence? Danny Garcia? Kell Brook? Or would he continue his farewell World Tour.

Surprise!



Imagine my surprise when I woke up this morning to the news that Pacquiao had lost his WBO title to Jeff Horn on points. It goes to show there is no sure thing in boxing. I checked my social media timelines and it was awash with comments and memes about the travesty that went down, Down Under in Lang Park. Apparently the fight was a sure thing but Pacquiao was robbed by the judges:

Kobe Bryant tweets Ice Cube 'disbelief' meme:


Screen Shot 2017-07-02 at 16.57.57.png

"Dear boxing, this is an atrocity. What fight were the judges watching?????!!!! This fight was an obvious easy Pacquiao win. This was crooked! I have been a boxing fan my entire life but NO LONGER. I am done. If you have the balls to cheat is on free tv how can I ever trust you with a PPV. This was bullshit. Manny was cheated!!! Fuck this sport!" (marionwayans)


Screen Shot 2017-07-02 at 17.38.40.png

Two-sided beat down

So I watch a re-run of the fight, expecting to see a one-sided massacre. I happened to watch the UK telecast on BoxNation. Their narrative of the fight was very different. They had Horn winning large parts of the early rounds. Pacquiao coming back at the end but narrowly losing. The ring side commentators for BoxNation had Horn winning 115-113. Steve Bunce and others in the BoxNation studio had Horn winning 115-113.


Screen Shot 2017-07-02 at 18.42.40.png

The two American judges had Horn winning 115-113. The Argentinian judge had Horn winning by a wider margin (117-111).

Obviously a narrow victory for an underdog, in a keenly fought content isn't as sexy as a broad daylight robbery in the Australian heat.



It's symptomatic of a culture that errs towards conspiracy theories and nefarious plots rather than Rocky or Cinderella Man fables.

Hyperbolic BS

I respect the achievements of real boxing people like Teddy Atlas. However just because someone is an elite trainer or boxer does not mean they cannot be wrong. It doesn’t mean that they can judge a fight impartially. It doesn’t mean they don’t have a jaundiced view of the fight game. Everyone comes to a situation with their own personal bias.

Listen to this from Teddy Atlas:



"They gave a trophy.. a win... a huge win... to Horn, the local kid, for trying hard!"

Sorry Teddy. It was a competitive fight.

I'm not sure why are Atlas is on a verge of having a seizure over a guy winning a competitive fight? I'm no psychologist hoowever the emotion in his voice suggests some sort of Transference was going on.

Stephen A Smith gave equally impassion rants on the post-fight show. There is an increasing tendency for commentators, who are there to put a bit of colour on the event, to try to be the main attraction.

Two point round?

I mean both Stephen A Smith and Teddy Atlas gave the ninth round (where there was no knock-down) a 10-8 to Pacquiao. I believe largely because it re-enforces their point that the fight wasn't close.

"I had it 116 - 112 Manny Pacquiao. Or actually 117-112 because I gave him a two point round in Round 9." (Stephen A Smith)

Really?



Pacquiao was that dominate in the ninth round? Yes he had Horn on wobbly legs for parts of that round but was it so unusually dominate to give it a 10-8?

Shut up Ref

I'm not sure whether the ref was drinking from the same kool-aid as Atlas and Smith but I don't understand why he was intimating that he would stop the fight at the end of the ninth round, if Horn didn't 'show him something' in the next round. I've only seen referees act like that in completely one-sided fights. Situation where a fighter has been floored a few times or looks completely over-matched and too tough for their own good.

In this fight, Horn was ahead on many people's card and it was the first time Pacquiao had sustained success. Indeed, Horn when on to win the tenth round easily, almost making a complete mockery of the refs words.

Opinions are like arseholes

Who do I think won? It doesn't matter. I think it was a close fight. However I do think a lot of people are judging Jeff Horns ability against Manny Pacquiao of yesteryear, rather than the Manny Pacquiao that showed up on the night. Sure Horn doesn't have the skill to hang with prime Pacquiao or even slightly over-the-hill Pacquiao. However he hung with the Pacquiao that showed up last night. It looked like time had caught up with Pacquiao and many watching were having a hard time accepting that.

In sport, you get judged on your performance on the night. That's what makes it compelling. You cannot just show glimpses of what made you great and expect to be handed a victory. You have to go and win the contest at hand.

The fact is both men were bloodied and beaten up. Neither men went down. Both men where still standing at the final bell. Many people had it as a close fight going either way. All this means neither fighter can grumble (or gloat) about the outcome. And in fairness neither fighter did.

We (as observers) should take their lead and look forward to the rematch.

Sort:  

There will certainly be a rematch...and it WONT be free this time. We will have to pony up $59. lol.

The fight looked close as Horn was busy. But in the end Pacquiao landed 2x more shots and 50 more power shots. So IMO Pacquiao won.

But I agree with what you said. "He hung with the Paquaio that showed up last night". And that is Boxing. You leave it to the judges and this is what happens. Pacquiao has not had a knockout in 8 years and this kid was hand picked to be his huckleberry. Things do not work out like you want sometimes lol.

indeed....I watched the fight....I never expected that this would generate some kind of controversy. Manny said he was sick. I think he lost that gas maybe because he is not in good condition or is already old....

It's symptomatic of a culture that errs towards conspiracy theories and nefarious plots rather than Rocky or Cinderella Man fables.

Which is odd because we like to think we root for Rocky or cheer for Cinderella Man when in reality we lean towards conspiracy.

It was a close fight and going by numbers (punches landed, percentages, etc) it looked like Pacquiao had the edge but I'm not upset over the judges calling it for Horn - he fought well.

@nanzo-scoop

I haven't followed boxing much over the past few years (thanks UFC), but the other day I heard about Vasyl Lomachenko and watched a documentary on him, then watched the fight he had vs Sosa.

Simply incredible skills. If anyone has yet to see this kid fight, check him out. Not a lot of power in his punch, but man he's got the accuracy and footwork to outmatch just about anyone in his class.

I saw his fight against Nicholas Walters (who is a banger and was unbeaten), he pretty much made Walters quit. Lomachenko was way too skilful. He definitely in the pound-for-pound conversation. Will watch the video.

Yeah so far I think I've seen 3 fighters stop against him by mid-fight. Just sick.

This is good too.

I used to love boxing but it's rediculous now, i know everyone will be watching the mayweather vs McGregor fight coming up (even I will) 😂😂😂

Pacman was robbed, plain and simple. Anyone with the least bit of boxing knowledge saw that!!

I was not used to see boxing until I saw rocky series and then I realized the passion these boxers have and more importantly the passion fans have. It is great and exciting.

This comment has received a 0.05 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @cryptokraze.

That means Mcgregor can beat Mayweather

we had a great fight so I didn't really care who's gonna win.

Pacquiao needs to stop eroding his legacy and enjoy his millions.

He's reached the top. There is no way left but down.

Great fight
thanks for sharing

Damn I forgot about this fight, I like watching at least the final round, I find it boring to watch a whole fight.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00