Miller fails drug test, tears up Joshua Jackpot Lottery Ticket

in #boxing5 years ago

The heavyweight title bout between Anthony Joshua and Jarrell 'Big Baby' Miller has been put into serious doubt, with reports emerging that the American challenger has had 'adverse findings' in his VADA regulated drug test.


MillerJoshua.jpg

Joshua and Miller were scheduled to meet on June 1st at Maddison Square Garden. The build-up has been fractious. With both fighters trading personal insults and Miller pushing Joshua in a pre-fight press conference.

Life-changer

Despite the rivalry, most observers acknowledge the Joshua fight as being a life-changing opportunity for Miller.

Being a Brooklyn native, and an unbeaten prospect, Miller was in prime position to capitalise on Team Joshua's eagerness to make a splash in the US ahead of a potential title unification with Deontay Wilder.

It was reported that Miller would make $4.75 million for the fight. As Joshua's promoter, Eddie Hearn, who broke the news to the general public put it.

I saw a tweet from someone, someone said, ‘Jarrell Miller had won the lottery and all he had to do was cash the ticket, and he didn’t do it.'

Tainted legacy

This failed test really puts an asterisk against Jarrell Miller as a genuine heavyweight contender. Miller tested positive for GW1516 (Cardarine and Endurobol) which is known to enhance an athletes endurance. Miller is known as a massive heavyweight with an abnormal work-rate and punch-output. The speculation will naturally be that his unique gifts have been illegally obtained all along.

Innocence Protested

It is, however, worth mentioning that Miller is vigorously protesting his innocence in the matter. He wrote on Instagram,


Screen Shot 20190418 at 20.57.21.png

I want to thank all of my supporters who have stood by me since day one and especially during this extremely difficult time.
I have not been tuned in to social media and any other media outlets to focus and channel all of my energies into working hard with no distractions.
I am absolutely devastated upon hearing the news my boxing license has been revoked in NY State and I will be vigorously appealing this decision. I have NEVER knowingly taken any banned substance and when I found out the news last night I was totally shocked.
My team and I stand for integrity, decency & honesty and together we will stand to fight this with everything we have!
This was a voluntarily test that I was very happy to do and these results came just one week after another voluntarily test that I had taken which was completely clean. I refuse to just lie down and let my dream be taken away from me when I know in my heart that I’ve done nothing wrong.
15 years of hard work. I’m WARRIOR .. I don’t need a banned substance.
Remember don’t believe everything you hear and see. The facts will prevail and I shall be vindicate [sic]. I don’t have anything to hide and the truth will make itself known.

Takeaways

Firstly, it's tough to see a man lose a payday like that. I feel for him as a man to see his opportunity go up in smoke like that. However, if you roll the dice, deliberately or otherwise, these are the consequence. Fighters know they are responsible for what does into their system and when the stakes are so huge there is little room for excuses.

Secondly, I find it ironic that Miller, who had previously failed a drug test, was one of the fighters calling out Joshua (who has never failed a test) for substance abuse! This is why reputationally it's hard to see Miller recover from this.

Thirdly, most importantly for me, cheating in boxing or MMA is unlike any other sports as you're putting another man's life at risk. If it transpires that Miller was deliberately taking Endurobol, it's hard to see him coming back from that.

Sort:  

"Everyones on steroids" - Nate Diaz

Antony should take on Fury or Walder imo.

Looks very aggressive.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

What a pity

Posted using Partiko Android

Big Baby miller is a real fool. So all along he was counting on using drugs to beat AJ. I am disappointed. I have been looking forward to this match for ages. What an idiot.

Posted using Partiko Android

The bad thing Deontay Wilder already has a fight with Brezeale otherwise big baby miller is a fool.

Posted using Partiko Android

Happy Easter to you @nanzo-scoop and we wanna thank you so much for your support always. We however share with you our new account to operate fully in Ghana @girlfoundationgh to operate fully in Ghana. Thanks so much for making this a reality with your support sir.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66930.79
ETH 3268.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64