Mayweather vs. McGregor - My Thoughts and Prediction

in #boxing7 years ago (edited)

I'm buying the fight, a match up like this has not been done before, and it seems entertaining to me. However, let's be honest, there isn't a change McGregor wins this. They are billing it as a competitive matchup, but it will only be one sided.

Basically, McGregor will be a slow, awkward, amateur fighter in the boxing ring as he faces one of the greatest boxers of all time... as would Floyd in an MMA octagon.

It's the hand speed, foot speed, and accuracy that will be the overwhelming and dominating factor. People are ignoring or underestimating this skill set, these take a long time to acquire.

This isn't a bar fight, it's a finesse and artistic match with rules that McGregor can't properly prepare for in under a decade.

A no rules bare-fisted fight is what would be the true equalizer, this is what people are expecting. It won't happen and never will.

0614-floyd-mayweather-conor-mcgregor-fight-card-4b-3.jpg
image source: TMZ

My Prediction:

Mayweather wins KO in 5 rounds or less.

My BOLD Prediction:

As McGregor swings wildly attempting to land a knockout blow, Mayweather in round 1 with a knockout counter-punch.

Sort:  

I don't know if Mayweather has the power to KO McGregor. If Mayweather wins, it will likely be by decision...or DQ.

I'm actually hoping that McGregor knocks him out. I've never liked Floyd. But it'll probably be won by Floyd. That would be unfortunate.

Well, there you have it. A late-round TKO. Connor wasn't ready to go 12 rounds. Wasn't even ready to go more than six, apparently.

Sucks that Mayweather gets to celebrate again. One of the reasons I don't watch boxing anymore. :)

Hope you enjoyed the fight!

I've never been a floyd fan either..., I was surprised by Mcgregors lack of power, even at the beginning, but Mcgregor impressed me looking less awkward than I thought he would. I thought it was a good fight.

Can't wait for McGregor Diaz 3!

Mayweather wind :D

is the match done yet who won?

I'm neutral in your opinion. Conner has better stats. I understand your facts and it may be 100% true. It would be would be nice to see a 12 round fight happen! I understand Floyd and boxers in general have the hand, foot speed. However I think Conner will dominate stamina. Will be interesting, great post! Cheers to the fight of the year!

What boxers have even more than hand and foot speed, is stamina.. ., but that is obvious now. Good fight and fun times!

Ha! Yeah it was a good fight!

yep I said the same thing Mayweather by the 5th round. I could be wrong though its just a guess.

Yeah I think they want him to drag it out a bit so it's not like a 20 second fight, lol

@gregm well we werent far off.

No we weren't... I forgot to take in account the rounds Mayweather intentionally wearing him down, unafraid of his weak punches. Wishing they let May KO him, but he was obviously done.

Yep he was more tired then a college kid on a monday.

My money is on Mcgregor.

-mcgregor is in the prime of is career.
-mayweather is 40.
-Conor beat the Paulie guy in boxring.
-Mayweather supposedly got knocked out while sparring for the fight.

My bold prediction is mayweather hitting canvas within 3 rounds.
Just look at the difference in their training. It's like mayweather stood still for 2 years.
He literally says he's only back for the money.

Also only x1.22 for mayweather and x5.0 for mcgregor. I know what I'm betting.

I tend to think those are some reasons and rumors given to have people believe it will be a close match.

Mcgregor is much slower as a boxer... this will show the difference in the speed needed to be a boxer.

But great points brought up and thanks for the comment!

You were right. Thought the age difference and training would make the difference. Mcgregor is a lot slower in boxing gloves. Nice prophecies guys.

Well I think those advantages (age, reach, height, weight) did make a difference, just not enough. I was surprised by 2 things though, Mcgregors lack of power that boxers tend to have, but also how well he did. Still Mayweathers plan was to let Mcgregor get to him and wear out.., he was huffing and puffing by the 4th round.

Great show though! Can't wait for McGregor Diaz 3!

Conor trains a lot harder. Mayweather was idle for over a year. Have you seen him pat the boxing sack?

I would love to see an upset.

I'm not arguing there, I am not much of a Mayweather fan.

I believe many people are underestimating the movement, timing and effectiveness of McGregor.

Many people also do not know that he was purely a boxer when he was a kid for many many years. Boxing is his basis. In MMA he has never been beaten while standing up.

Many boxing and Matweather fans are in for a huge upset in my opinion.

Nevertheless... it's going to be very very interesting!

It indeed will be interesting... great points, but I do not think it will be enough as he is limited to boxing rules only.

I m up for mayweather

Sadly enough the fight was a bit boring :(

I actually thought it was great.... The Mayweather/Pacman fight was boring. At least Floyd went toe to toe, or at least was aggressive and offensive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63003.41
ETH 3122.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52