João Carlos Presents: Mohammed Ali In the ring with the Profoto B10

in #boxer6 years ago


Mohammed Ali


I’m super excited for this next post! During the week of testing the Profoto B10 I had the opportunity to photograph the awesome Mohammed Ali! That’s right I said it: Mohammed Ali! He’s a Moroccan middleweight boxer and he trains at Paulo Seco‘s gym, let me just take advantage again and say thank you, Paulo, for giving me and my team access to this awesome gym!

 

Joao Carlos Presentes ALi in the Wring with Profoto B10 from JOAOCARLOSPHOTO on Vimeo.

Using the B10 as a continuous light while Pedro is filming with the Fujifilm X-H1
Using the B10 as a continuous light while Pedro is filming with the Fujifilm X-H1

Profoto B10 First Impressions

I actually photographed him before Killer Kelly. I went a couple hours earlier to look at the venue, start setting up the lights and preparing the location. Meanwhile, Mohammed Ali was there training, I immediately took advantage and got maybe 10 pictures of him just to test out the Profoto B10. As expected, 30 seconds after unpacking the OCF, I was ready and I was photographing my first subject of the day.

My first impression of the Profoto B10 was "Wow, it’s super powerful!" and "Wow, it’s super small!" and after a week of using it that continues to be my first impression. All the images here were created just with one Profoto B10 strobe, raw without any light modifiers. I really wanted to give it that raw feel and I wanted a quick fast easy to set up.

Detail of Paulo Seco's Gym
Detail of Paulo Seco's Gym
Mohammed Ali 2

Mohammed
Ail
Using the Profoto B10 raw gives really nice sharp shadows making the image more rough
Using the Profoto B10 raw gives really nice sharp shadows making the image more rough
Me and Mohammed checking the pictures
Me and Mohammed checking the pictures on the back of the Fujifilm GFX 50S.

Gear Used

For you gearheads, I’m photographing with the Fujifilm GFX 50S with the Fujinon GF32-64mmF4 and Profoto Air Remote TTL for Fujifilm. I’m using a SanDisk extreme SD card and most of the time I have my camera on a 3LeggedThing tripod. To keep the camera on my shoulder I use a BlackRapid Cross shot strap. For the behind the scenes we used a Fujifilm X-H1 with a 24mm Fujinon lens.

If you are interested to hear more about the Profoto B10 read my previous blogpost about Killer Kelly here: https://joaocarlosphoto.com/killer-kelly-profoto-b10/

The Fujifilm X-H1 and the Profoto B10 in Paulo Seco's Gym
The Fujifilm X-H1 shooting behind the scenes and the Profoto B10 in Paulo Seco's Gym

Mohammed practicing his punches

Credits

Let me just say thank you again to Pedro Davim for the filming of the behind the scenes! Let me thank Rafa from Innovafoto and Profoto for lending me the B10s. Big thanks to Ali and Paulo from the gym and my friend Marlena Elise thank you for the behind-the-scenes pictures.
Rafa from innovafoto
Rafa from Innovafoto

 



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://joaocarlosphoto.com/mohammed-ali-profoto-b10/
Sort:  

Congratulations @joaocarlosphoto! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard knock out by hardfork

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84