Bounty $100: Teach me how bitcoin or steem works at its core.

in #bounty8 years ago (edited)


I am giving out this bounty to learn how to code bitcoin and steem. I am also looking for a coach if that is up your alley.

I have been active in the blockchain space since 2013, mainly as an investor. But with a computer science degree I think just reading books, watching talks and investing a bunch of money is simply not good enough.

Because ....

One thing on my bucket list is being able to actually clone and build an alt chain. I have a decent knowledge of bitcoin. I have read mastering bitcoin, watched the Princeton class on bitcoin and countless other developer videos and podcasts. I have also written some test smart contracts, but thats about it.

However I never actually looked at the code of bitcoin or any other blockchain in detail other than in books.

I used to be a coder 10 years ago, but I am not anymore. So I am looking for a hands on baby step approach from the beginning of how to get the developer environment setup download the code and start implementing changes.

I would be interested in this both tutorial for steem and/or bitcoin or even ethereum.

I am looking for tutorials, background videos, books or whatever article exist that would get me going.

Condition

I will reward the bounty only if overall I can use the information to get me going. I.e. from the point of an empty MAC/PC to lot installing the dev environment, downloading the blockchain code, changing one or two parameters and running my own network.

Payout

I will distribute payout to information posted in the comments. If I think there are several good comments I will split up the bounty depending on quality of post or links.

Do you have to write the content

No, whatever works counts. You know a youtube video that answers my question perfectly you can post that and collect $100. U may of course write such a tutorial and I will pay you as well.

Coaching?

I would also be very interested in having a coach, someone that would be able to teach and coach me via screen share. Let me know if you are interested in that and we can get in touch regarding payments for such a thing.

Lastly this is just for fun/educational purposes

Sort:  

Hi @knircky - I don't expect this to meet the bounty conditions, but here is a post that would basically get an instance of the blockchain up and running. It is intended for a witness server, but all that would be needed for it to be a mining or seed node would be different config settings.
https://steemit.com/witness-category/@bitcalm/how-to-become-a-witness

I also resteemed to hopefully get you more exposure.

Found you homie :P
I'll keep this comment simple since it's not related to your post and I know for dam sure I'm not a "coder"

thx for checking in!

Writing a book for $100? Not really a good investment of time.

Steem uses a block-chain library. With it, you define the structure of the blocks, compile a server module, put it on several computers and tell them to talk to each other. Done. Overall, it is really easy.

But, the devil is in the details.

Bitcoin has almost none of the original code it started with.
Such as, in the beginning, your IP address was your wallet.
Later they changed it to a public/private key system. Just as one example.

So, the entire thing is easy to understand, but delving into the actual code gets messy and you need to understand cryptography processes. (or at least recognize them when you see them in code) What do you feel that you are missing about block-chain programming?

Well maybe there is this content already out there somewhere. Collecting 100 for a link might not be the worst idea

So, what do you feel that you are missing about block-chain programming?

I really would like to just learn. I have not yet actually "programmed" a blockchain. I would like to start by taking an existing chain, such as bitcoin and be able to create my own version of it.

Then I would like to just be able to go thru the code, so i can understand it and start to change a thing or two.

I am looking for resources that can walk me thru such a process.

Since you are here, I would look into the steem block-chain
You can do all kinds of things with it.

You can use steemd.com to actually view blocks.

APIs written to work with the steem block-chain
https://github.com/xeroc/python-steem
https://github.com/steemit/steem-js

How steemit (the UI) uses steem (the block chain)and how to set it up for yourself on your own server
https://steemit.com/steemit/@artakan/how-to-build-your-own-steemit-com-website

Lots of articles on what might be expanded.
https://steemit.com/blockchain/@dragosroua/blockchain-as-a-backend-pros-cons-and-a-use-case-zentasktic
https://steemit.com/blockchain/@dragosroua/blockchain-as-a-backend-part-two-lateral-forking-following-content-types-agnostic-rewards

There are several blockchain APIs out there including bitcoin

thank you!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 02. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.53 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 02 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

If you any questions or concerns about Thirds Rule feel free to ask.

FranksIn©

First question: what is Thirds Rule. I only know the rule of thirds :-)

Thank you for asking...please allow me to explain in my Thirds Rule trading yesterday. I set 3 buy orders for S7 GHS in Hashnest @ .000039, .000041, .000043btc

All 3 orders where filled. And I set to sell @ .000049, .00005, .000052btc

I had more than enough wiggle room from catching that dip of @ .000037btc to sell at the peak @ .000053btc

As we speak the S7 GHS is trading @ .00005btc

Hardly any risk trading at 2mil S7 GHS for the 24hr volume. I try not brag, just being Frank.

FranksIn©

At this point i will close this bounty. Thank you for the comments anyhow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56618.92
ETH 2337.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40