You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Non Intrusive Video Ads Targeted Toward New Users To Earn $SBD & Steem (BOUNTY IDEA)

in #bounties8 years ago

If an advertiser is selling a movie or other product or service that is not distributed worldwide, would that advertiser want to limit rewarded viewers to those in the distribution area, is there a way to do that on the platform, and would people be able to use a VPN to avoid that limitation? Would there be options for people speaking different languages?

Those are great questions. I would think that it would make sense for advertisers to target only those who can see or purchase their product, but if someone wished to use a proxy/vpn I'm sure they could get around this.

If you are a small film production company in africa that plans on showing your film only there I think you be wasting your money advertising outside that target market. So yes I think being able to market certain countries, states (colorado may have marijuana themed ads) etc.

I think youtube probably has this already as they target keywords and similar types of ads based on what type of clip you are watching.

It may also be like sending out paper ads, where it could be cheaper to send out randomly and slightly more expensive to target exact areas.

Maybe these sorts of ads are only really tailored to worldwide companies or thse with a lot of money backing them like those on youtube already.

Great point! I appreciate you bringing it up.

Sort:  

Thanks for your response. And thanks for the upvote on my comment.

Certainly companies such as Sony have experience tailoring ads to different markets and remarketing American products. I don't know how much of a limitation internet speed would be in different markets. I have been places where internet was too slow to watch a lot of videos.

It's an interesting concept. I've been on the site only a few weeks, but I've read several posts that indicate people are thinking about ways the site can diversify how money is earned.

I'd like to see a better marketplace for selling goods and services directly in steem dollars. So if I do not like blogging but say I make cool wood carvings I could sell them and the buyer could be brand new. They just send the sbd and now the reputation of the seller is on the line to deliver the product. So if i don't make sure you get that wood carving then you will make sure it is known and my rep would take a hit.

Same with direct selling music or skills like photo or video editing.

There is a lot more than just blogging that can make money here :)

I'm focusing now on trying to understand everything, finding people to follow, commenting, and producing blogs, although I'm slow on the last item. Steemit has been good motivation for me to get back into writing. However, I also rewrite book blurbs and do other editing through the fiverr.com site, although I've cut way back in the last year and a half. I could offer that work here as well, instead of giving fiverr 20 percent of my earnings, if the site diversified in that way.

Yes it's worth writing a post about and letting people know what you would charge. You could charge 4.50 sbd and make more money while still offering a discount. And you could offer longer edits for more money. If you have any questions, please feel free to message me on steemit chat (bendjmiller222)

Thanks for the offer. Once I get a little more comfortable on the platform I'll probably try that. I know there are a number of authors on steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60228.69
ETH 2428.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45