Boulders And Rabbits

in #bouldersunday5 years ago

This rabbit likes hanging around the boulder and eating the dandelions.

There’s been three rabbits hanging around the yard. It’s great to see them make a comeback. Rabbits are food for a lot of animals and something had taken them out of circulation the last few years.

image



A flat boulder can be used for a step like this one is at the back of the garage. Rocks make a strong step and you don’t have to replace it every few years.


image


I had to laugh at the way the rabbit took off when he saw me. He’s winding up for the take-off and heading for the woods.


Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada

#bouldersunday is a tag hosted by @shasta. A great time to roll some boulders her way.




#thealliance





46B316FA-31F9-40BB-87B7-F85999B33372.png


6EE249CE-12B6-4AD7-944D-06B6CDD099C5.jpeg

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thanks @esteemapp for your great platform.

So beautiful! I remember the old times when deer visited our garden. Especially during the winter when they were attracted to the hay my grandpa used to cover the bees' nests.

Thanks Roxy. ❤️ Appreciate the resteem. It is nice to see the wildlife .

@redheadpei Nice shot of the rabbit on his take off. We have an abundance of rabbits and now they have taken to chewing the dripper lines to our plants, I told my husband maybe we should place water bowls around and they will leave the dripper lines alone. He rolled his eyes at me.

There can’t be many predators there after the rabbits. I worry the coyotes will come through and clean them out.
It does sound like the rabbits want water. You could test with a few bowls of water for them.

@redheadpei we have lots of predators we have coyotes, bobcats, and rattlesnakes all prey on rabbits. Our land is mostly wooded and surrounded on three sides with woods. I might set some bowls of water where they have been chewing the lines and see if it stops them.

It should stop them. Here there is usually a heavy dew in the mornings so they would get moisture and there is a creek running through the forest.

How cool is that! Bunnies and boulders! Seen a couple wild ones this
spring, not as many as past years. Maybe just a cycle?
Stones make the best steps don't they! :-)
Mr cottontail makes me think of a small kangaroo, the way they
look, sit up and move around. Just look at them back legs go lol
Thank you @redheadpei for sharing these awesome boulders! 🐰

Thanks! I was thinking the same @shasta that the bunny looked like a miniature kangaroo.

What a lovely combination i love rabbits i use to breed them as a kid and sell them as pets to other kids they are so cute :)

You know a lot about rabbits then @hangin. That would be a fun thing to do as a kid. 😊 🐰

It was fun my friend seeing dozens of cute furry baby rabbits i never wanted to sell them but my brother said we can't keep them all :)

You were able to get some great shots of the rabbit. I never seen to spot them in time when my camera is ready.

Thanks Deb!. They can move pretty fast but these ones don’t seem too afraid.

Terrific photos Jo! Boulders and bunnies..lol! The photo of the bunny hopping off gave me a laugh too! 😀

Hi Dee! I hope things have settled down and you are feeling good, my friend. Appreciate the resteem.

Sadly, it seems the "hits" keep coming but I'm hanging in there. I've tried to get a post up the last few days but my heart hasn't been into much. Hopefully I will get something up tomorrow or by the end of the week though. 😉 Hope all is good with you and yours!! ❤️

Oh dear, I’m sorry to hear that Dee. Things are good here. June has been a great month weather wise. Hang in there and post when you can. Love & blessings 💕

Howdy redheadpei! I didn't know Canada had Jack rabbits, that's what that is isn't it?

Yes Cowboy, some provinces in Canada have Jack Rabbits but the rabbits I took photos of are actually Horseshoe Hares.
I don’t think there are any Jack Rabbits on PEI.

Oh ok, well haven't heard of Horseshoe Hares but I could tell they weren't little cotton tails. those rabbits would have to have some thick fur for those super long, cold winters!

That boulder sure is a perfect step and what a nice boulder in the background. Those rabbits sure can run fast. Love that photo. : )

Thanks @whatisnew. Glad you loved the photo. I thought it was cute the way the rabbit took off. 😊 🐰

I found rabbits near my boulder this sunday too 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 65292.16
ETH 2651.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85