My Second Boulder Sunday!

in #bouldersunday5 years ago

Thank you @shasta for #bouldersunday!! You can check out @shasta's latest Boulder Sunday post here!

I didn't think I would get a post up today but here I am. Been a rough few days and I started to feel a bit overwhelmed. Took a deep breath (a few actually) and decided to put a little something together. These photos are from a trip to Rocks State Park in Harford County, Maryland and with a name like Rocks...well...you can guess where I'm going with this! 😁

mm1iqwhscs.jpg

efoetg6r1l.jpg

There were so many boulders that I thought it best to combine some into collages.

wcewx3aicw.jpg

63fboqwt8r.jpg

It was a cloudy day with rain off and on. I have not been to Rocks State Park (other than driving through) since I was a little kid and I'll just say that that was a very long time ago. I remember that day like it was yesterday though because it was a bit more rustic then and my siblings and I were climbing up towards where the "King and Queen Seat" are to see a cave. Me and my younger siblings got most of the way up when the older ones yelled that there was a bear. Now, there was no bear but me and my younger siblings did not know so we practically rolled down what seemed like a mountain to get outta there. Mom was not happy with my older siblings but I find it a fond memory now. So what is the "King and Queen Seat"? It is a very large rock formation but I'll be showing that off in my next Boulder Sunday post because todays post is on the lower level of Rocks State Park and is known as the Rapids Area.

uw4dzdt2ky.jpg

Both areas are beautiful and are plentiful with rocks and boulders!

6z82vc9ag3.jpg

8zjrkcpks2.jpg

pqv0iqqp54.jpg

reagrdeqct.jpg

dbql117qzz.jpg

The water was moving pretty fast and it was easy to see why there were so many caution signs around but it was great to see and listen to! Matter of fact...I took a short little video for you!

It seemed like there were boulders everywhere I looked...

nsk4kq6m92.jpg

b5jvh85xba.jpg

um81xankbl.jpg

Well, there were plenty of boulders for sure but I'll be sharing more photos of some other sights from my trip this coming week and my next Boulder Sunday we'll go see the "King and Queen Seat". If you look closely in this last photo then you can see part of it just over the top the trees.

4cxqihrdio.jpg

86ea2dyu0d.png

10t0fnrxjj.png

anonyvoterlogo.JPG

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you so much @pixresteemer!! Very much appreciated!! :)

Dee, The park certainly has the right name with all the great rocks and boulders there. You have a wonderful memory even if frightful at the time.
I’m looking forward to seeing the king and queen seat. 💕

Thank you so much Jo!! It was frightful at the time but I laugh to myself thinking about it now.
It is an impressive formation and dangerous which is why there may have been that bear to ward off lil kids from climbing up all the way. ;)

Looks like a paradise for boulder hunters LOL so many of them and such a beautiful area,

and I honestly did not laugh at the story of the sibling and the bears, not even a chuckle,

thanks for being an active Member of Steemusa !tip

Thanks so much Jay!! It is a beautiful area and I hope to share more photos on Wednesday. Lol..sure sure... 😂

cool I look forward to seeing them :)

🎁 Hi @deerjay! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Boulders In Central Park Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Great shots :-)

Thank you so much @manorvillemike!!

Rocks is the perfect name, isn't it? What a wonderful selection of Boulders you found. Great photos!

Thanks so much @melinda010100!! The name sure does fit this park. It definitely has some more impressive boulders than other parks I've been to here. :)

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 22 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 120 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thank you very much @trufflepig!! 😊

This is a Wow boulder place @deerjay! Whoa Outstanding Wonderful = Wow
Perfect name ''Rocks State Park''!! Oh my goodness look at them all! Now that sounds like something my older brother would of said - bear! Awesome to hear the sounds of this beautiful place!! Looks like spring is springing forth with lovely greens, goes much better with boulders than the white stuff lol
Oooh I'm looking forward to next week now to see the royal seats! I like the teaser leading up to it! Thank you for showing us these fantastic photos of this rocky world!!

Happy boulder Sunday 2U! :-)

Thank you so very much @shasta!! Hee hee..I'm glad I remembered and added that bear story. We were a mess by the time we scrambled down. I'm glad you liked my teaser. I think this is one of the most impressive parks here that I've been to and I'm looking forward to my next #bouldersunday!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58254.01
ETH 2971.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89