Bid Bots: The Dangers of a Single Story

in #bot6 years ago (edited)

images (22).jpeg
Image source

The above quote is credited to Chimamanda Ngozie Adichie, one of the most celebrated African writers in contemporary times. She made those passionate statements while reacting to the prejudicial views which most Europeans hold about Africa. Chimmanda brilliantly argued, as you would later see in the video below, that the biases against Africa were single stories, stories which are misleading and not completely correct.

Like the single stories told about Africa and her people, most of the stories told about bid bots on Steemit are single stories. It is not that these stories are not true but they do not reflect the whole truth. They are twisted truths.

The popular narrative about bid bots is that they drain the Steemit reward pool by receiving bids from authors who wants their works to be noticed. Bid bots have also been accused of killing creativity because they only upvote sponsored posts regardless of whether such posts are quality or not.

While I do not argue that all of the allegations against bid bots are untrue, I hold the view that bid bots are functional to the growth and progress of the Steemit community. Permit me to now tell you the other side of the single story:

Bid Bots as the Most Effective Tool of Promotion on Steemit

To this very moment, bid bots are, unarguably, the most effective promotion tool on Steemit. Bid bots give every Steemian an equal opportunity to promote their posts and reach a wider audience. Through bid bots, even those without hefty voting powers are given the opportunity to get their voice across.

Also, the promotion services offered by bid bots have given a voice to prominent accounts who have important messages to share. For instance, such prominent account like @originalworks uses the services of bid bots to reach its large audience for its handsome weekly contests.

Bid bots as an Industry within Steemit.

I once had a fierce debate with @themarkymark, the proprietor of one of the biggest bid bots on Steemit, about the tendency of bid bots to deliver more loses than profits for its users. In the course of the argument, he made me understand what it took to set up a viable bid bot on Steemit. And I would later do my research and find that the bid bot industry is a multimillion dollars industry with hefty investment in Steem required to power it.

Let us briskly look at the investment in SP powering the nine largest bid bots on Steemit. As I write, @appreciator holds 2,772,229 SP; @therising holds 862,785 SP; @rocky1 holds 1,479,802; @upme holds 1,496,479; @postpromoter holds 2,806,386; @promobot holds 877,125; @booster holds 1,003,660; @buildawhale 1,826,917; and @smartsteem holds 2,319,042. This puts the total investment from these nine hefty bots at 15,444,425 SP. At the present price of $2.88 per SP, the total investment in SP powering only the nine bots is $44,479,944.

At a market cap of $740m, the bid bot industry accounts for about 10% of the total investment in STEEM. This is massive. Now imagine what happens if all the SP invested in the bid bots are withdrawn. A crash in the price of STEEM? Oh yes. That is exactly what will happen and the consequences, of course, will be disastrous.

Bid bot creates demand for STEEM

If there is one undeniable fact about bid bot, it is that they generally create demand for STEEM. There are a number of people on Steemit who would not have bought STEEM if not that they need it for promotional services using bid bots. There are also a couple of people who are buying STEEM because they want to delegate it to bid bots in return for some rewards.

The implication is that bid bots are latently expanding the demand for STEEM and this has a potential of shooting up the price of STEEM on the long run.

Conclusion

I do not intend to advance the view that bid bots are without flaws. Rather, I believe that bid bots play some functional role in the workings of the Steemit community. Therefore, the call should not be for the eradication of bid bots. Instead, the call should be against the abuse of bid bots. And, unfortunately, abuse does not have a universal definition. In fact, what you consider an abuse is a sport to another man.

Thanks for your reading time. Your feedbacks will be well received.

Sort:  

You share such a profound perspective @gandhibaba on Bid Bots and single stories.
There is always two sides to the coin, the Yin and Yang and unless we embrace both sides, we only have half the story.
The irony being, as we do see and validate both sides of the Yin & Yang, it becomes One!
Chimamanda's TED Talk brought tears to my eyes, having spent almost two years in West Africa, some of which, in Nigeria.
The source of my tears were twofold, hearing her wisdom beautifully expressed, but also my own inadequacies when describing my experiences in Nigeria.
This is a profound message, especially in this day and age of profuse duality and an orchestrated Divide & Conquer principle being inflicted upon people.
Thank you so much for sharing.

I agree. Bid-bots have become inseparable part of steem eco-system. I regularly use them to promote my posts. I joined steemit just two and a half month ago and my reputation score went up from 25 to almost 53 at this time. This could happened because I used services of bid-bots.
But I also realized that most of the my posts are only being upvoted by bid-bots. So far I have more than 900 followers but only a few friends are supporting me by upvoting my posts. So I would say that bid-bots are helpful only in one condition that you use them to promote your posts for more than 200$, then others will attract toward your post and make your post worth earning some profit. Otherwise, your investment on bid-bots will only put you in loss.

Thanks friend for this organic feedback. I agree with you that bid bots need to be used with serious caution.

PS: I will want to see your entry in the blockchain memory project if you don't mind. Regards.

What is blockchain memory project?

Here is my last entry, I trust you'd find it interesting

https://steemit.com/life/@gandhibaba/blockchain-memory-project-journal-entry-7-always-follow-your-instincts

The guy behind it is quite supportive. Check it out. Thanks.

This post has received a 3.91 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @gandhibaba.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Friends are good too, :-o

Bidbots are not a long-term way to growth for Steemit, and are likely damaging to it in the long-term. They breakdown the social contract of Steemit.

If people are just seeking more SBD, they don't even have to contribute to the community anymore. Spammers buy votes, bots get paid, delegators get paid, and Steemit is made worse.

Ultimately, Steemit may just become the first decentralized blogging platform for bots.

Thanks for your feedback, I find them insightful. While I may not be a bit bot advocate, I need you to know that bid bots are not as bad as people make it seem. Some investors will pull put as soon as their uses are banned and that, frankly, may affect the overall prize of Steem.

Regards.

PS: I noticed that as beautiful as the ideas advanced in your link were, you still had to make it visible through bid bots. This justifies bid bots as effective promotional service. Bid bots are functional, even though I do not endorse their usage absolutely.

They are only effective to those that can afford them, though.

Someone just jumping on Steemit may or may not be able to 'invest' in the platform financially. They may create the most amazing posts in the world, and yet they may have a very small slim of discovery and long-term success.

I enjoyed reading your article. There are many opinions expressed on bidbot usage and I share the same viewpoint you do.

Therefore, the call should not be for the eradication of bid bots. Instead, the call should be against the abuse of bid bots.

It’s the abuse of the service that many are against. Since there is no way of defining abuse as you best stated, many blame the service itself.

I feel humbled reading your feedback on this post, particularly that you find it enjoyable and that you share my sentiments. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

I also noticed that you resteemed and upvoted. You are being followed. I hope to return the favour some day. Regards.

I try not to press my own opinion on to others by resteeming, but it is a good article. You didn’t advocate the usage of bidbots, simply expressed another side of the story. There are two sides to the truth, and not many people are daring or are able to express their viewpoint with an unbiased perspective (which to me you did).

I’ve read so many people expressing opinions on bidbot usages and advocating the disuse of these services. In my opinion, bidbots/vote buying is a maketing service tool. Just as in the real world with paid advertisements. It really is the abuse of the service that many people are against.

My writing material on here is not really quality material 🙂. I’m happy to share your work, but there is no need to return the favor. My posts are just silly rambling most days. I’m not a writer/blogger at all but do appreciate the talents and good hearts I see on here (if I have time to go around reading). Take care!

Hahaha I interpret your response as you not wanting to blow your own horns. Don't forget that it takes an avid writer to recognize "quality" writings. I look forward to seeing your works, whether you call them ramblings or not. Lol

Thanks once again.

This post has received a 1.17 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @peppermint24.

The bots like miners...

Thanks for the upvote. I really appreciate you. Regards.

thanks again @gandhibaba for sharing that link with me.

Im glad to see that we're on the same page. Post a bit to old to upvote :( sorry

cheers, Piotr

It is my pleasure friend. Cheerrss!!

I love to see how responsive you are @gandhibaba

big thx! :)

Thanks friend. You are one of the friendliest Steemians I know.

It's easy to be friendly @gandhibaba knowing that I've managed to surround myself with very supportive people like you :)

What goes around comes around, right? :)

cheers mate

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63459.73
ETH 2599.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78