Why @booster will be ruined by large boost deposits...

in #booster7 years ago (edited)

Ok, so I know I'm fairly new to steemit...

I was lucky enough to learn about a great bot called @booster.

In theory, it makes sense...a large whale delegates power to an account that can auto-vote at 100% every 2.4 hours to give max profitability for that account.

The math, however, didn't add up...mainly because I was unaware how to calculate how much a vote was worth at 100% voting power. Luckily, a tool was shown to me, created by @blueorgy (great name by the way):
http://steem.cool/booster/

So great, now the math made more sense, and you can see the investments involved before the round ends.

Things were going so well...but then boom:


LARGE DEPOSITS!

It was at this point, I knew that booster will eventually be doomed until people learned the math behind the votes.

To keep it simple, large deposits reduces the rewards for everyone, not just you "mr/ms large depositor". The profit comes from the excess voting power not claimed. By sending booster $20 when it only has a voting power value of $50, you've removed a full 40% from the excess power that can be used for profit.

Yea, it might get claimed by other, but damnit...give others a chance to profit as well instead of taking a big chunk for yourself. KEEP IT SMALL...KEEP IT SIMPLE!

At some point, I see booster creating some limitations per round for each user and deposit size eventually in order to survive.

Heck, I'd probably code in a cap on the deposits based on the upvote value so I could leave some room for everyone in the current round to potentially profit...


...but hey, who am I.

Sort:  

Interesting post, I didn't know about @booster

I got a bellyRub and this post has received a 0.57 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @zeartul.

I posted a link to this post in the comment section of @booster's latest post, so others, deciding if @booster is right for them, can make a better decision.

You can find the comment Here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63506.20
ETH 3065.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04