Book review: "Abducted by the mountain man" by Ambrielle Kirk

in #books5 years ago

Author's note: The following review was published on Spanish language in August 18th, 2019. It may contain spoilers; if you don't want spoilers, please check the no spoilers review in Narrative.

Source of the image: Goodreads

In a cottage located in a hilly forest lives Erik, a former hitman of the Russian mafia; in that place arrives Alexis, a young flight attendant who had separated from her group in order to recover  her bag with her belongings that she left seated at a meeting point. Their encounter was fortuitous; as the days go by, both of them know their respective pasts and have passionate nights at their respective levels.

I must confess that I haven't read a book of this genre for years; I was encouraged simply by the synopsis that the book offered. However, I think I had too many expectations because the synopsis was not enough related to the “hero vs. villain" aspect. Being honest, I kept wanting to see Erik face an Italian mafia boss whose name is unknown to the reader; that is, the author makes it clear that Erik took less than a week to go to a certain point in the United States to kill the man and his company, but I want to think that the guy, being a retired hitman, became a sort of John Wick or whatever he could be.

The reason for this is that Erik mentioned that he was the best in his guild; he was in charge of removing the people that his boss ordered him to eliminate. And when the guy retired, it was obvious that he was a little rusty in his fighting skills in case he was discovered. The author will have her reasons for not including that scene that, in my opinion, was fundamental in the development of the character.

Erik and Alexis are very defined and too compatible characters. They reminded me a lot of Beauty and the Beast for their personalities. Each of them has a past to run from and they don't want to remember at all, an understandable decision when that past is linked to the mob.

As for the scenario where the story unfolds, I could not help myself to remembe the beautiful pictures published in Pexels website; I don't know, I felt it as something magical, as a good place to be alone with the beloved or to explore. I had that  feeling  when the author described the place.

I really expected a little more from this book, but I am happy with the fact that I enjoyed reading it for a while, which I would highly recommend for a long trip or for a rainy afternoon, because its pace is fast and entertaining.

Where can I get the book?

You can get it in Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and Book Depository.


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62875.13
ETH 3030.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67