Adventure Reading #7: "Light in August" on Cerro San Cristobal with a New Dog Friend

in #books7 years ago (edited)

Adventure Reading Cerro San Cristobal Faulkner.jpg

I leave our apartment in the center of Santiago on an early morning walk, joining the stream of uniformed schoolchildren and sharp-dressed business people. The strangers around me peel off to their schools and workplaces, until I, the loafing traveler, walk alone.

I reach the colorful Bellavista neighborhood, once home to Pablo Neruda, and turn onto the road that climbs uphill.

Santiago Bellavista Split.jpg

The Place: Cerro San Cristobal, Santiago, Chile

My Rating: 3.5/5

I’m only a few steps up St Christopher’s Hill when a brown dog trots over and falls in at my side.

I can’t help but notice that the dog positions himself between me and the teenage boy that pedals past on a bike. He does it again when we walk through a construction site, slowing down to stay between me and the workers until we’re through.

He feels like better protection than the fragile shield I usually try to throw up when walking alone through a city. Mine is built out of a confident stride and don’t-give-a-fuck expression, whereas this one is all muscle and teeth and undeserved loyalty.

I reach a fork in the trail and pause to read which way to go. The dog walks twenty yards down one of the branches and looks back over his shoulder, waiting for me to realize that, yes, he chose the correct way.

When I catch up, he runs ahead to chase a bird up a slope before sprinting back to my side, tongue lolling.

Santiago Dog Split.jpg

We soon make it to the top of the hill, where there’s a sanctuary dedicated to the Immaculate Conception. In a few hours, the funicular will deposit herds of other tourists here, but right now the summit is deserted. Heavenly church music plays through the empty gardens, an eerie soundtrack as I wander between crosses and palm trees.

Santiago Cerro San Cristobal Split.jpg

I climb the steps to the base of the 70-foot-tall statue of the Virgin Mary. The dog flops down at my side and I reward him with scratches behind the ear while I pull out my book to read, all of Santiago stretched at my feet.

Santiago Cerro San Cristobal Dog

The Book: Light in August by William Faulkner

My Rating: 3/5

This Southern Gothic novel weaves together the stories of three misfits, victims of the Puritanical society in which they live.

Pregnant Lena walks barefoot for endless miles to find the father of her child. Reverend Gail Hightower can’t stop thinking about the Civil War and his past. And orphaned Joe Christmas resorts to violence while grappling with his mixed-race heritage.

Faulkner’s narrative structure and inconsistent grammar took some getting used to, but there is beauty in his words. I found the story itself too overburdened to be truly enjoyable, steeped as it is in allegory and meaning.

Southern literature reminds me just how much racism is part of the United States’ collective conscious. Is it the same for other countries?

In Chile, there is still widespread prejudice against the Mapuche people and others with indigenous features. However, it’s impossible for me to understand the extent of racial bias during my short time in the country, especially when I just go on hikes instead of throwing myself into the culture.

Santiago Cerro San Cristobal View

The dog interrupts my reading when he leaps up barking and bristling. It’s the first warning that I’m no longer alone. Moments later, I spot a person running toward me up the stairs.

It’s just a jogger, but once again the strange dog has once again proven he’s got my back. I better head down the hill anyway - the morning is aging and losing its magic.

I push thoughts of religion and racism from my mind and start my walk back to the city.

Want to participate in my favorite hobby? Head to a cool reading spot and tell me about it using the tag #adventurereading. All words and photos are my own, thanks for stopping by!
- Katie, @therovingreader

More reading: This wasn't the only stray dog I've befriended - here are some others!

“It is just dawn, daylight: that gray and lonely suspension filled with the peaceful and tentative waking of birds. The air, inbreathed, is like spring water. He breathes deep and slow, feeling with each breath himself diffuse in the natural grayness, becoming one with loneliness and quiet that has never known fury or despair.”
- William Faulkner, Light in August

Sort:  

What an enjoyable read and I think the photos are great - what a cool dog too!
Love the colours around Chile - you must be having an amazing time!

That dog made my whole day, haha. Not enough mushrooms in the city though ;)

Although I love Chile and I have many very good friends there, they are notorious in SA for discriminating and racial bias. Probably because they think their nation is the 'United States' in South America, being developed and progressive. But their thinking needs to advance somehow.

In Chile, there is still widespread prejudice against the Mapuche people and others with indigenous features.

This is very true. Santiago didn't interest me that much. I went to the South - Curacautin & Malalcauellho to snowboard.

I heard Valparaiso is a nice city, you should check it out.

I much preferred Valparaíso to Santiago, but we only stayed there for a couple days! I don't like big cities much in general, spent most of my time down in Patagonia which I will have to write about soon. Thankfully there were little walks like this to get out of the city for a moment.

This is a pretty awesome idea! Adding an even further aspect of adventure to reading. Thanks for checking out my blog @therovingreader. I'll be sure to check out yours as well. Cheers!

Thanks for giving me a bunch more to read! :) I love layering up books and places like this, but it's also sweet that you simply can use reading to travel.

While the U.S. is often criticized for it's racism, I have noticed that casual racism (and sometimes not so casual) was also rampant in the European cities that I visited. Sometimes I think that the US is far more reflective of their prejudices... but I'm not sure. I'll have to do some more traveling to find out!

In other circles, the US is also criticized for being overly politically correct, which probably means we have a lot more conversations about the meaning of prejudice. It is really hard to get a gauge on these subjects, even in my own country! More travel can't hurt, haha.

What a beautiful spot to read Faulkner! Great blog too, you've got a new follower.

Thank you! Would love to take one of those rare books on a hike, but I'd be wary of getting it dirty!

Haha. As you should be!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70