How I Self-Published My First Book of Poetry - Part 4 - Setting Distribution and PricingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #books7 years ago (edited)

front-cover-2.png

Click for part 1 of the tutorial
Click for part 2 of the tutorial
Click for part 3 of the tutorial

Now that you have completed the cover of your book, you will have to submit the uploaded file to Create Space so that they can approve it. They will check to make sure that the Microsoft Word file that you submitted it suitable for printing. You will also have an opportunity to order a proof of the book or view the online digital proofer to make sure that your book looks the way that you think it should.

If you are happy with the way your book is looking you can then finalise your book, or you can go back to make changes. You can make changes even after your book has been approved and has started appearing for sale, however, you must go through the whole review process over again. The review process takes in the neighbourhood of 48 hours.

I cannot actually show the the digital proofer or the review process because this is a project created just for this tutorial, but it is a very straightforward process. Create Space will email you when your file as been approved and then you can go see how it will actually look using the digital proofer.

Now comes the REALLY fun part. We have to select our distribution channels, which means deciding where our book is going to be sold! Let's click on Channels under the Distribute heading.

Screenshot 2017-06-25 11.01.37.png

Standard distribution is already selected and includes Amazon.com and Amazon Europe as well as the Create Space Store. These channels CAN be de-selected but I am not sure why you would want to do so. Note: Amazon.com also included Amazon.ca even though it is not made apparent.

Screenshot 2017-06-25 11.04.42.png

The expanded distribution channels become available when your book has been approved by Create Space. This includes bookstores and other online retailers, libraries and academic institutions and Create Space Direct. Create Space Direct means that your book is available to independent bookshops and other specialty stores.

Note: Just because your book is available to these places doesn't mean that they will be ordered. Don't expect that your book will magically start appearing in Chapters or in libraries across the country.

Screenshot 2017-06-25 11.07.17.png

Once you have selected all the options, click on Save and Continue. You'll want to select them all because, why the hell not? You never know, right?

Now we are into the Pricing section. This is where we get to decide how much our book will cost and find out the royalties that we will get from each copy. You can see that I have chosen $11.99 USD as the base price for my book and checked off the boxes that will suggest a price in British Pounds and Euros for my book. This saves me from having to do the conversions.

Screenshot 2017-06-25 11.29.07.png

What I like to do after that is UNCHECK those boxes and round the prices either up or down. For example, the suggested price in UK Pounds is $9.43 which is kind of an odd number, so I will round it down to $8.99. I will do the same thing for the Euro and round down to $9.99 just to make the prices look better.

Screenshot 2017-06-25 11.30.02.png

On the right side, it will show you what your royalties will be in each channel. I have had success selling from my website as well and ordering direct from the Create Space store and then selling them on. It only costs in the area of $2.15 USD for my book and I can sell it for whatever I want. Your pricing may differ depending on the size and content of your book, but it still should give you good results.

Once you have set your pricing, click on Save and Continue.

We have already selected our Cover Finish so unless you want to change this, click Save and Continue again.

In the next tutorial, I will show you how to write the description for your book that will appear on Amazon as well as your author biography, and you will also learn how to publish your book on the Kindle.

Click for part 1 of the tutorial
Click for part 2 of the tutorial
Click for part 3 of the tutorial


Images are my own or screenshots.

I am Scott. I write poetry and lyrics and sometimes I write about life. Please upvote and follow. I always follow back. :

To buy an ebook please send me what you think the book is worth to you in Steem or SBD and send your email address in the memo and I will send you a PDF version of the book.

Sort:  

Nice post , Followed and Upvoted Please do the same for me :)
@soulaiman 👈 Click this !!

Congratulations.
Thanks for sharing.
Upvoted & restemeed.

Thank you very much. :)

May you get gteat success

Upvoted and following!

Thank you! I'll be sure to follow back. :)

I've thought of doing this, but the general stigma is that there's no money in poetry. Of course, I don't really publish for the monetary gain, but it's nice to be compensated nonetheless. I'm curious how sales are.

I have a partial book I published on Wattpad which is a platform for free books. I feel inspired to go ahead and finish it put it out. I have several other non-fiction and fiction books, so I know the drill. I hope your post will inspire others as well and they'll see how simple it is to do.

Thank you for your comment. I'm around 100 sold. Not a huge amount but I have made some money from it. I'm just happy to have a book published as it is a life long dream of mine. I definitely think you should finish it and publish it!

100 sales is nothing to sneeze at. I think it's pretty huge as a self-publisher myself. I definitely will do that! Thanks for the reply.

I look forward to seeing a post about it. :)

Wow

Really, that was my first word when I saw your post. Thank you for so much for your tutorials. I love the amount of amazing things that folks can do with Steemit.

All about that Learning, Earning, and Returning.

Thanks for being here.

Thank you very much. Part 5 has just been posted. Don't miss it! :)

I wont!!! I just will be back in a few day ;) got to do my curation rounds :)

woot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63103.76
ETH 2556.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82