How I Self-Published My First Book of Poetry - Part 1 - Getting Started (and buy my book with Steem!)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #books7 years ago (edited)

front-cover-2.png

For as long as I can remember I wanted to publish a book. I have been writing poetry and song lyrics since I was a teenager and I finally put together a collection that I felt was worthy of publishing.

With the technology available to us today, it makes it very easy to self-publish a book and run a publishing company from our own home. In this post, I am going to show you how I self-published my own book of poetry.

Please see my signature to find out how you can buy a copy of my book using Steem or SBD!

The first thing we have to do is to go to www.createspace.com and click the button that says Start a Title for Free. If you have a Create Space account you can sign in, but if not you'll have to create a free account.

Screenshot 2017-06-21 10.26.59.png

Next we have to choose the name of our project. Don't worry, this can be changed later so if you want to use a working title that's perfectly fine. You also have to select the type of project you are working on. In this case, we are going to select a paperback book.

Screenshot 2017-06-21 10.30.23.png

Now we can select if we want to use the guided setup or the expert setup. If you are new at this I would suggest using the guided setup as it is very good at giving you all the information you need as you go along. Click the Get Started button to continue.

Screenshot 2017-06-21 10.32.33.png

We now have to enter some basic information about the book. The first options are Title and Sub-title. The title should automatically be filled in based on what you entered earlier. Don't forget, you can change this at any time. If you have a sub-title you can also enter it, but it's optional.

Screenshot 2017-06-21 10.35.37.png

The next step is to enter your name as the author.

Screenshot 2017-06-21 10.38.38.png

Finally, we have some information to enter, most of which is optional. You can add additional contributors such as illustrators, editors, photographers etc if they exist, you can add an edition number, or if the book is part of a series. The only mandatory field is the language field. Once you have done so, click Save if you want to save and pick up where you left off later, or click Save and Continue if you want to keep going.

Screenshot 2017-06-21 10.42.07.png

Now we have to choose an ISBN number for our book. And ISBN number is necessary for publishing a book. The easiest way to do this is to allow Create Space to assign an ISBN for you, although you can purchase one yourself. Remember, if you choose to have them assign you an ISBN, it cannot be changed. Click Assign Free ISBN to continue

Screenshot 2017-06-21 10.45.27.png

There you have it. We have now started the process of self-publishing a book on Create Space. In Part 2 we will start to design the actual book itself. Stay tuned!


Images are my own or screenshots.

I am Scott. I write poetry and lyrics and sometimes I write about life. Please upvote and follow. I always follow back. :

To buy an ebook please send me what you think the book is worth to you in Steem or SBD and send your email address in the memo and I will send you a PDF version of the book.

Sort:  

Congratulations Scott, May God provide you a lot of success in life ahead.

Thank you. I appreciate that!

Thank you for this! Congratulations on your book!

great tutorial! thanks for sharing.

Thank you. I appreciate that!

Informative post and congrats for your book. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you. :) Glad you enjoyed it.

Awesome, Scott! Creatspace is the best. I'm planning on a poetry collection soon myself so this really did help me a lot.

Thanks. Stay tuned for part 2 tomorrow. Good luck with your book. I'll help in any way I can if you have questions.

Happy Birthday Scott and thanks for the info here!

Thank you Ann. :)

Great job. All the best from another author who offers his book on Steemit.

Thank you very much. :)

it is very interesting story, i love it very well.

Hi Scot, how are you going to advertise this book?

It's already out. I've been selling it mostly via word of mouth and social media. Looking into doing some readings and so on as well.

Interested, I don't know what to offer you as I am looking to offer mine for $2.99 when I publish next week @100 pages.

My kindle version is $2.99 if that helps. Let me know when yours is out. I'd like to have one.

Okay, will get some steem to you when I have worked out how to do it. Thank you!

Thanks friend. I appreciate it!

Thank you! This is very useful, looking forward to your next post, and following! :D

Thank you. Happy to have you on board. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58127.19
ETH 2452.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36