Book reviews, Melanie Murphy, John Green and Ned Vizzini

in #books7 years ago (edited)

This last week I have read three books that I would like to share with you all in this post. The works are: "Fully Functioning Human (Almost)" by Melanie Murphy, "Turtles All The Way Down" by John Green and "Be More Chill" by Ned Vizzini. Enjoy :)

”Fully Functioning Human (Almost)” is a non-fiction work written by the Irish Youtuber Melanie Murphy. It is not exactly an autobiography, as Melanie is still only in her 20s, but it is a book about her life experiences so far. Melanie has been through quite a bit, from mental health issues to sexuality confusion. The book is very inspirational and motivational, and I would recommend everyone to read it! - Regardless of gender and age (all though, if you are very young, you might not understand everything). The book is divided into five parts; ”Media and my Mind”, ”Food and Body”, ”Beauty and Confidence”, ”Sex and Sexuality” and ”Love and Happiness”. So if you are interested in anything from: how to deal with cyberbullying, to eating disorders, acne, sexuality (especially bisexuality) or how to be happy, this book is for you!
Find the book here: https://www.bookdepository.com/Fully-Functioning-Human-Almost-Melanie-Murphy/9781473639157?ref=grid-view&qid=1516878859762&sr=1-2

”Turtles All The Way Down” is the newest work by John Green, and it does not disappoint! I have read all of John Green’s books, from ”Looking for Alaska” to ”The Fault in our Stars”, and I love his style of writing. ”Turtles All The Way Down” has a bit of a different writing style compared to John’s other works, but it is still very well written. Without spoiling too much, the book is about a young female, Aza, who is terrified of bacterias (if you are wondering how or why, read the book ;)). Her childhood friend’s father goes missing, and there is a reward for turning him in. Aza’s friend, Daisy, really wants the award, and they start investigating, but when they start interacting with Davis, Aza’s childhood friend, things do not go exactly as planned. - The book is very cute and wholesome, with a few darker undertones. It is an easy and fun read, and I recommend it highly!
Find the book here: https://www.bookdepository.com/Turtles-All-the-Way-Down-John-Green/9780241335437?ref=grid-view&qid=1516878888658&sr=1-2

”Be More Chill” is a book (that has been made into a musical) by Ned Vizzini. The work came out in 2004, so it is not exactly new, but it is still a very relevant book. Sadly, we will not be getting any new books by Ned Vizzini, as he committed suicide in December 2013 after having struggled with depression and suicidal thoughts for a long time. ”Be More Chill” is one of his better known works, and it is about a young male, Jeremy, who wants to be cool. He gets to know that there is a pill on the black market called ”the squip”. ”The squip” is a tiny computer that locates itself inside your brain after swallowing the pill, and gives you instructions on how to act. The pill seems to be especially beneficial for males, as it instructs them how to act around females in order to get their attention. Jeremy is interested in this girl, Christine, and decided to get the pill so she will acknowledge him, but things do not go as smoothly as Jeremy had hoped. The work is very lighthearted and funny, but with an important, serious message, and I would recommend everyone who is glued to their phone or laptop to read it.
Find the book here: https://www.bookdepository.com/Be-More-Chill-Ned-Vizzini/9780786809967?ref=grid-view&qid=1516878924745&sr=1-1

Hope my explanations did not contain too many spoilers! - And I hope you got some good recommendations for what to read in the near future :)

Sort:  

These all sound like wonderful books! I really want to read them, they sound interesting. And I'm so thankful to meet another bookworm, I have a feeling that I'll get lots of book recommendations from you :)

haha, yeah, I'm actually doing a new book recommendations video next week! Glad to see that there are people on steemit that loves books as much as I do :)

I love that you mention Ned Vizzini! He's one of the greatest YA writers ever in my opinion..."It's Kind of a Funny Story" was a favorite of mine. Very sadly he committed suicide a few years ago...it lends a poignancy to his work when you consider that he really understood what depression and struggling as a teenager is like.

Yeah, I know! "It's Kind of a Funny Story" is my favourite by him as well, it's so sad that he gave up on his life. I know he struggled for a long time, but I really wish he could have pushed through and write lots more good books regarding mental health. I really believe in honoring his memory, and I want to keep his works alive, as they will forever be relevant.

I've Follow, Upvote. Interesting post. I like, multiply the article and expand it again. Spirit and keep working. Follow me @madimancity

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56162.63
ETH 2368.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31