The "Recommended Book List" Idea: Talking It Out

in #books6 years ago

For the last week or so, I have been thinking through my idea of a list of books that I recommend. I've also been talking it out with my family. Books have been an important part of my life. It's only been the last decade or so that I have focused on other things, mostly technology and computers, to try to make money. Perhaps that was a mistake and I should have focused on my strengths.

I'm interested in creating a "curated bookstore", if only a virtual online bookstore. Though, I see lots of ways that I could experiment with selling books in person, too.

My wife also likes the idea of owning a bookstore, but we are not naive about the challenges that brick and mortar bookstores face.

We also love used books and plan to resell used books. Amazon and Barnes and Nobles can have new books sales. Used books are so much more fun because they are often out of print or have a life and a story of their own.

I'll write more specifics about my ideas and experiments, but I'll give some hints now:

  • A mobile or pop-up bookstore in a trailer
  • Book activism, reading and book selling as cultural activism
  • Selling books for crypto, in marketplaces like OpenBazaar

Questions for you

Do you sell books? Or have you in the past? Do you keep a list of your favorite books that you recommend to friends and family? Has one book in particular changed your life for the better?

I'd like to hear from people who enjoy books. It'd be good to get to know you. This is "social media", after all, and even book-nerds can benefit from sharing their experiences.

Until next time,

-- @matthewdavid

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97