My Top 5 Books I've read in 2019

in #books5 years ago
1. The Science of Interstellar by Kip Thorne

Screenshot from 2018-01-30 17-36-10.png
A book explaining all the science theories in Christopher Nolan's Interstellar (2014) (one of my top movies of the 2010's). I won't go into details on this one because I've already talked about a lot in my previous posts.

2. Bitcoin Billionaires : A True Story of Genius, Betrayal and Redemption by Ben Mezrich

Screenshot_2019-10-05-23-18-16.png
If you liked 'The Social Network' or read the book which the movie is based or you want a soft introduction to the cryto-verse (nothing technical) or you just wanna know more about The Winklevoss Twins (The guys who sued Zuckerberg) then this one is for you. It tells the story of how The Winklevoss Twins found redemption after being Silicon Valley's Evil Twins (No one wanted to work with them in fear of alienating Zuckerberg) and how they became Bitcoin's first Billionares.

3. Flatland : A romance of many dimensions

Screenshot_20190311-170837.png
This is a story told by a Square (a 2 dimensional shape) on its adventures as it visits the 1-dimensional universe and interacts with a line which doesn't know that it is a line or even worse what a line is because lines don't exist in a 1-dimensional world (just dots). Square thought he knew everything until a Sphere (3-dimemensinal being) visited and took him on a tour of the 3-dimensional verse.
In high school we are taught in 2D so much that it becomes very hard to visualize an object in 3 dimensions (In a way we are like The Square). I remember one time trying to explain the concept of 3D to some high school kids and they couldn't get it then, I asked them if they prefer watching a movie in 2D or 3D in the cinema and they all said 3D after which I asked 'why?' and they said because it feels like you 'in the movie' lol. When I asked what makes them feel that way they couldn't answer, could you?

4. Stock Investing for Dummies by Paul Mladjenovic

Screenshot_2019-12-16-16-30-10.png
I hate the fact that they insist on using the 'For Dummies' reference in all their books although people are always complaining about it and there is this friend of mine who always laughs at me for reading their books 'cause of that reference. Even though I've tried explaining to him that these books are a good starting point if you want a gentle introduction to something and some of their books are not even beginner friendly. So I hope you guys won't laugh at me lol 'cause when I downloaded this book I just wanted a simple introduction to the stock makerts and what I really liked was that instead of going straight to stocks and everything it just started by how to go about doing your personal financial analysis and planning 'cause that's where you start before you do anything else.

5. Good to Great : Why Some Companies Make the Leap and Others Don't by Jim Collins

Screenshot_2019-12-16-16-32-34.png
" Good is the enemy of great.
And that is one of the key reasons why we have so little that becomes great. We don’t have great schools, principally because we have good schools. We don’t have great government, principally because we have good government. Few people attain great lives, in large part because it is just so easy to settle for a
good life. The vast majority of companies never become great, precisely because the vast majority become quite good—and that is their main problem."

That's the first paragraph of the book. It's an old book but it's not really a book rather a research on how some companies were able to move from being good to great and how some stayed the same or went the opposite direction. Although some of the companies are now out of business but I really liked the concepts presented here.

Sort:  

It's a new year I'm now on the lookout for some new reads, any recomendations?hi

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67651.30
ETH 3269.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64