'The Diadem' - circa 1850 - an Antique Book Saved from the Scrap Heap

in #books6 years ago (edited)

Of all the books that I have collected over the years, this one is without a doubt my absolute favourite. I've mentioned before that my place of work is a bookshop, a second hand one, and it's not uncommon for us to get enormous boxes full of obscure or esoteric volumes. Some of them having sat unread for many decades. When something pre-1900 comes in there's always a little buzz of excitement.

Sadly, a lot of the older books we receive have not weathered their hibernation well, and are only good for recycling. This finely bound, beautifully preserved piece of poetic history almost met a similar fate.


1

Divider

I'd had my eye on it from the moment it arrived, and kept watch as it stood unwanted on the shelves for one, two, three, four... six whole weeks. Every day I'd come in and check to see if some lucky sod had managed to pick it up at what was already an insultingly low price, but nobody ever did. Then one day, it was gone.

"Damnit!" I thought, "I was going to have that!"

Divider

2

Divider

I asked the guy at the till if he remembered selling it, and who to, in case it was one of the dealers who come in and flip our rarer stock online for a profit. They didn't even remember seeing it on the shelf.

Game over, or so I'd thought - I'd had my opportunity to buy it and now it was gone. The tragedy!

That's what I got for waiting for my 'Last Chance Discount'.

Divider

3

Divider

Then a couple of hours later I was emptying a crate of old Jeremy Clarkson books into the recycling bin out back (they aren't good for much else), and I spotted a tiny square of red hidden underneath some cardboard. Could it be?

Sure enough, I pulled the cardboard away and there it was, solemnly awaiting its final voyage to the pulping factory. Someone had obviously been culling old stock off the shelf and tossed it without a second thought.

Needless to say, I bought it there and then - only £1.99, an absolute bargain.

Divider

4

Divider

What I love about this book is that even just holding it gives me this incredible sensation of stepping back through time. The poetry contained isn't really to my tastes, almost all in the classic Victorian style of highly strung rhymes and blustery enunciations on the divine. I smile inside a little every time I read the subtitle 'Chiefly Modern'. How drastically society's preferences have changed in the last 160 years.

The inscription always makes me stop and wonder. Who was Mr. J Clark? And the giver of this gift; an Edna, or an Edwina Clark? Were they married, or siblings perhaps? Did everyone in 1857 have such immaculate handwriting?

Divider

5

Divider

Everything about it as a physical object - from the Morocco (goat leather) binding, to the gold trim and embellishments, the yellowing pages, ridged and slightly battered spine, even the unmistakable odour of pipe smoke - seems alive with those bygone days.

It's not so easy to tell from these pictures but it is a tiny pocket volume, only five inches in length. In my mind I always picture a gentleman in a waistcoat and thick trousers, perhaps Mr Clark himself, or his next of kin, leisurely leafing through the pages in some sunny meadow far away from the bustle of his urban existence. It seemed natural that I should photograph it surrounded by grass.

Divider

6

Divider

This poem is my favourite of the bunch, and there are dozens of big names in there. Wordsworth, Southey, Byron. Maybe because it is by 'Anon', as many of the authors in this book are. Such a simple yet evocative stanza, highlighting what the object itself seems to overpower me with, that knowledge of so many people lost in the winds of time. Mr and Mrs Clark, Anon, even Wordsworth - all leaves to the soil, all merely leaves in a book.

It's my own little fallen star, shrunk to a pocketable piece of space rock, dropped at my feet as if out of the very pages of history.

Divider

7

Divider
@lazarus-wist
Divider2
Original Words and Images.

Sort:  

Very cool, the book has survived well for 168 years! Great find.

Cheers - it's a tough old bird to be sure :)

What a gem!

Thanks, I thought so!

The greenery of the meadow suits to its fancy red!

The text between last two pictures- so much love for a book, that you even wrapped it with the embrace of your poetic prose

It does hold a strange sway over me - I just had to try and get my thoughts down about it ;)

Great save. Just in the nick of time too. I hate to see old books get recycled/trashed. As you say, such a classic slice of time in a bound edge. I've always been fascinated with them too, got a few really old ones. A Botany book by Asa Gray (sp?) and an old wildlife book with hand-drawn inks, with the Passenger Pigeon in it. Sad, but a part of our wacky history, I suppose. That is so cool to find a book of age that is of poetry. Since it is one of your loves, and you are such a great poet yourself. And I enjoyed your take on the passing of time. All dried up leaves in the wind in the end. Such a sad ending to a post. I"ll make up a joke to liven things up...

Did you hear about the writer that found a small book of poems with a pen tucked inside, hidden away behind a water meter in the alley?
The inscription inside said:
"Poems, and I am Bic pen-ta meter"
Now THAT's a sad joke, but the best I could come up with on a Thursday AM after a holiday. Have a great day over yonder.

Hahaha, I'll be honest, it's not your best work, though it made me smile and I do appreciate the effort :P

Old books are the best - the older the better. Yours would be worth showing off I'm sure. I had to look up Asa Grey and now I'm intrigued, sounds like it's of real historical interest!

Well, to be honest, I did have to look Asa up, when I found the book at GW. But it was a cool find, think it's the 1870's, but I'd have to find it to know for sure. That would be fun to do a post on them, maybe one day...."get in line, ideas, get in line". I have about 200 in my Steemit folder alone, so we'll see what comes forth. But that is a good idea, thanks.
As for jokes and limerics and such, Steemit has been the best site for inspiring me to write some for other contests, etc. All my first time of doing so in life. They're fun, if not some coming out a bit lame ( :
Have you seen @improv 's site for such? It's a lot of fun.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63326.84
ETH 2648.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82