Book Releases in June 2018

in #books6 years ago

june.JPG

Every month I want to present to you some new releases that sounded interesting to me and provide my thoughts on what I gathered from the description what it is about, what I think could be positive about this book but also what prejudices I have. Of course, since the book isn’t released yet I don’t know if I’m right with any of these ideas, but I think this could be interesting nonetheless.

Like I already did last month I went through Goodreads` most anticipated new releases of the upcoming month, trying to find new books that sounded fascinating.

mermaid.JPG

The Mermaid by Christina Henry

What I think it is about:
A mermaid, who was once married to a fisherman until he did not return from sea, agrees to become an attraction for a museum, not knowing that she is not free to leave whenever she likes.
What I would like to see:
A nice backstory of her and her husband, balanced out with the dramatic events she faces now. Also the museum setting offers a lot of possibilities.
What I dread to see:
Not enough fantastical elements, having the mermaid just being a gimmick in a story that could do without it and too much focus on her more or less slavery
Would I buy?
Depends on what I will hear in reviews. If the focus actually is were I would like it to be, I would like to read it.

vampire.JPG

A People's History of the Vampire Uprising by Raymond A. Villareal

What I think it is about:
A mysterious disease turns people into vampires, but instead of being hunted and killed, a lot of them become influential people in all aspects of society, like entertainment and business. Well, that’s different. One of them wants to run for a political office and I guess that will be the person this book will follow.
What I would like to see:
Some satire, yes, but not too strong of a focus on comedy and more on the “what if” focus.
What I dread to see:
Seeing the new situation from too many characters perspectives (I just wouldn’t be able to follow them all).
Would I buy?
Probably not, it’s an interesting concept but I can’t really imagine that I’m the right reader for it.

washington.JPG

The Trial and Execution of the Traitor George Washington by Charles Rosenberg

What I think it is about:
An alternative history of the American revolution, where George Washington is captured and trialed by the British.
What I would like to see:
A book that really has fun with its ideas and imagining an alternative outcome, some war action without glorifying war too much and just making a really compelling story out of this idea, maybe with Washington himself as one of several POVs.
What I dread to see:
A story where you are lost if you don’t know every historical detail. I could also imagine it very dry and political and slow-paced in general.
Would I buy?
Once I’m in the mood again for historical fiction, I actually would. There are a lot of ways this could go and the idea sounds promising.

What books are you looking forward this month?
Do any of these books sound promising to you? Tell me in the comments :)

Sort:  

I admit, I hear A People's History of the Vampire Uprising and my mind jumps to a World War Z-style oral history. But I'd be very surprised if that actually was the case; it would be somewhat hard to make it truly unique and standout with the precedent of World War Z.

The Trial does sound very interesting - I'm an avid reader of alternate history via the AlternateHistory forums, but I imagine that the book would have a much different format. Most AHs take the "timeline" format mixing together excerpts from fictional history books, descriptions, timeline-style date-and-description, excerpts from fictional speeches and other documents, and narrative-style interludes. A book, I imagine, would be purely narrative.

This is such a great idea! I love this post and I'm so excited to see that there is a "bookish" community within Steemit. I'm still very new and just happy to have found your feed :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94