Flash review! Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel

in #books7 years ago

If you like dystopian fiction, you'll love it.
If you like post-apocalyptic fiction, you'll love it.
If you like an adventure and stories of human survival, you will love it.

()

Year One. The world resets itself. A virus spreads within a matter of days across the globe. What would you do if you were among the 1% of humans that survived a pandemic?

Emily St. John Mandel explores this question. Jumping between several time lines, Mandel introduces us to characters that take us on a journey of survival, hope, grief, and love.

With 337 pages, I devoured this book in no time. Some books grab your attention from the beginning and this was one of them. The characters weave in and out of the narrative, and in and out of each other's lives, spanning over four decades. Through their stories, pre- and post-fall of man, Mandel shifts our perspective on our current world; "how advanced are we?", "what do we take for granted?" and forces the reader to ask, "how would I survive in this new world?"

Try putting this one down. It is the most exciting book I have read in a long time. Just maybe don't read it when you have the flu.

*photo credit Google Books

Sort:  

Ok, I have to tell you. I am a HUGE dystopian reader! This is right up my alley!
I prefer the economic collapse and/or EMP scenarios versus the viral/zombie phase.But I admit to reading ALL doomsday books!

Plus I am in the Great Lake state of Michigan. Definitely going to get this book.
Thank for the recommendation and review!

This was the first viral-type dystopian book I've read, and it was written so well. It was all about the people and how they coped. A truly fascinating read. I hope you get your hands on it!

I loved this book! It is well worth the read! I will also admit that I'm drawing some inspiration from it for the novel that I'm working on right now.

Ohhhh, do tell!!!
DO you have books currently in print? Or ebook format?

I have two short stories up here, and that's it at the moment...I'm working on a series of short stories that I'm using as world-building exercises to give some extra life and vibrancy to some of the characters and settings in my novel. Those short stories will show up here, but other than the early drafts of the beginning of the story (posted about a month ago as "untitled novel") I don't have anything else published right now.

I can recommend "The Last Namsara" by Kristen Ciccerelli (full disclosure: Kristen is a friend of mine) if you're at all interested in fantasy novels with strong female leads and dragons! lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60794.44
ETH 2623.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62