You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My brand new book on the Vikings and Viking Age, now available on Amazon

in #books8 years ago

This is fabulous! I am of Norman descent so this would def be of interest. I'll check it out and thank you!!

Sort:  

Thank you! Great to hear this! As you might already know, present day Normandy was given by Charles III the Simple, King of Western Francia, to a Norwegian earl by the name Hrólfr (later known as Rollo) in the early part of the 10th century so as to defend that part of his kingdom against subsequent waves of Viking war bands. Thus, the Duchy of Normandy was created and Rollo became the first Count of Rouen.

Huzzah! My folks were the Daniels and Fitzgeralds who later showed up in Ulster and I'm currently in the process of connecting all of those lines. Might I ask what sparked your interest in the Vikings?

Interesting. Personally, I'm interested in the Middle Ages in general, and that also includes the Norsemen. I must mention though, my interest is mostly scientific.

Besides, I could also mention their seafaring culture, which also intrigued me for a while because I like the sea very much.

Another thing would be the Goths (that is, the 'original' ones; a Germanic people which most likely stemmed from the isle of Gotland, modern day Sweden), who are also related to the Norsemen.

They had an important historical legacy during the Migration period in much of Central and Eastern Europe (as well as parts of Western Europe).

Last but not least, I always wondered if all the misconceptions and myths regarding their age are, in fact, based on reality. It turned out that, as with the vast majority of the misconceptions, many of them were false. Then I did some further research and I came to the conclusion that they had a real history worth reading about.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58015.02
ETH 2381.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42