Moby Dick by Herman Melville 1851 - Book Review

in #books5 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

I read this a long time ago (the whole book) and I've forgotten most of it. But I do remember that almost half the book is details about whales and whaling, which, like you say, got a little boring. That chapter does sound very suspect.

I tuned out a lot of the boring parts. The movies and remakes I've seen have a similar opinion amd cut it out. I did enough one sermon and parts of a few more, but some of those were also quite boring and lengthy.

Posted using Partiko Android

Whaling is unsustainable and bad for the Earth and whales, so I disagree with this activity. This book that glorifies the killing of our cetacean friends is just wrong and should be read with caution knowing that many whales died. Nantucket is a city built on the blood and bones of whales.

I agree, but the book was written in 1851 and it was cool to do that sort of thing back then.

I love it! The gay parts. Now I know why it's required reading in schools today. It has to be the gay parts. lol

Great review, man.

There were at least two more gay parts I left out of my review from the story, although in my opinion, the sperm scene was definitely the gayest. Unless it involves surviving a shipwreck or war, most books that involve men on sailing ships has these kinds of scenes. I imagine they got fairly bored.

Plus the fact that the word "sperm" to them had the additional meaning, as you pointed out, to be a reference to the whale. The obvious double entendre, however, serves as a useful metaphor so there could be some homoerotic undertones.

I've not read this, hearing that it can be long and boring, but after reading your description, I'll give it a dry.

Proud member of #powerhousecreatives

There are definitely some boring parts, if you are reading, those are great to skim over. If you are listening, it's time to do something that requires a little more attention or hit skip.

I've heard about the story, but never read it myself. I didn't realize it was such an old book! The "squeezing the sperm" segment sound hilarious! lol.

I always wonder when reading these books, what was the impression of people back then. The book wasn't really popular from what I know. Maybe they thought of it as completely normal and boring?

I have never had a desire to read this book, but have always been curious about it. You actually have me thinkinking it might be a good listen while I am down from knee surgery.

I think what has me most curious is the strawberries!
Ren

The strawberries part was interesting. I never imagined he would argue a whale is a fish after listing so many mammalian characteristics.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @abitcoinskeptic!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.551 which ranks you at #5808 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 11 places in the last three days (old rank 5819).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 200 contributions, your post is ranked at #180.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 38.06% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @abitcoinskeptic! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 25 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00