Poetry Book Review: He Tried to Drown the Ocean, I waved

in #bookreview5 years ago

hetriedtodrown.png

He Tried to Drown the Ocean, I Waved
Kai Naima Williams

I must admit, there’s an indescribable difficulty in reviewing this chapbook. I read the collection three times and I’ve enjoyed it each time. It is evident that Kai Naima Williams is a spoken word poet, as is reflected in the work, but this doesn’t take anything away from the written word.

This chapbook is a personal, self-empowering anthem, as is the first poem called, “Anthem”. In this, the poet established her voice and hooked me in; I wanted to hear what she wanted to say. Immediately after, we are taken into a vulnerable place:

“she tells me we cannot move backwards
her fingers return to the ridge of her scar”
(allegory of the cave, p. 3)

There’s a uniqueness to Kai Naima Williams’ writing. Yes, she uses well-thought metaphors and pleasant imagery, but what I like most is how she subtly weaves them into her poetry. As in the two lines above, we are shown the unsaid.

The chapbook explores the author’s identity and ends with the strongest poem, “the black woman is god/the back woman is not god.” I loved the elements of holiness and royalty, and how love is contrasted with worship. In a series of hard-hitting images, she portrays this:

“He said, you are as unconquerable to man as the ocean
I said that doesn’t mean I can’t be drained”
(the black woman is god/the back woman is not god, p. 33)

I am enamoured with this section of the poem; it’s a beautiful way of owning her own worth without forsaking her from vulnerability and humanness. I felt her pain when she described it. It shows that one can be valued and idolised while still being excluded and lonely, and if that’s not the story of my life, I don’t know what is. I’m honestly astounded with how she managed to convey such a feeling through words (although as a poet, I should never be so surprised, should I?)

Overall, albeit difficult to summarise and review, I truly liked this book. I’m a sucker for poetry that explores the poet’s identity. Even though it is relatively personal, it is still valuable for the reader, and probably even more for readers that can relate better to these experiences.


Hyacinth Girl Press sent me a free copy in exchange for an honest review. I must praise them for sending me a beautiful product! It's the kind of love every collection deserves from its publishing press. Get the book here.

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hi poetrybyjeremy,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

hi @poetrybyjeremy
I think you're right, reviewing poems is very difficult. In my opinion, why is it about another person's deep feelings: and how do you judge them by trying to be objective? Impossible! I think it's just a matter of feeling !!
Congratulations and thank you for sharing with us

Well, yeah, but usually it's much easier for me to say why I like something. In this case, it's very hard both objectively and subjectively; wasn't sure what emotions it brought out of me, but I know I liked it.

but do you do it for work? I don't think I would be able to!

Nah, I just review all books I read for leisure (because both authors and readers deserve more reviews). In some cases, like this, the publisher sent me a free copy, so I get paid in a free book in exchange for an honest review, which is a win-win

it looks great to me! how did you get started can you give me some advice? I love reading. do you do it only on steemit? (ps: I don't want to steal your job, eh !!)

thanks. I started early last year. As an author myself, I came across Goodreads & realised how important reviews are, and so I started writing reviews for books I was reading. I post them on my blog and here.

Sometimes I've had people ask me from my site to review something, but other times it's either a book I get through netgalley (free digital review copies) or else I've come across authors asking for reivewers on Twitter, to whom I contacted & was sent their book.

Some people do charge money & offer their services like that, but I feel that a book is sufficient payment for me.

& there's not really much of a job to steal. the more of us, the merrier. it helps authors and readers and the book industry, I suppose.

oh, you opened a world to me. I had never thought of doing such a thing before, but being a writer you know how certain things work! thank you so much, readers forever!!

anything you enjoy doing can be offered as a service.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60085.46
ETH 2416.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43