๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ“™โœ NEW STEEMIT BOOKCLUB! Who is up for THE IDIOT? โœ ๐Ÿ“™๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ“™

in #bookclub โ€ข 6 years ago

This is my humble attempt to launch a new bookclub event on Steemit. I remember that last year there was one but unfortunately I joined too late to be able to catch up with that monster of a book called "Ulysses" so I had to leave it for the next. But it seems that the new iteration fizzled out.

So, I'm wondering how many people here would be interested in trying it again, with slightly more streamlined format.

What I am proposing...

I recently downloaded online a free version of Dostoievsky's THE IDIOT. Everyone knows CRIME AND PUNISHMENT, and everyone has heard about THE BROKER KARAMAZOV, but I think that THE IDIOT is (maybe due to the title) a bit forgotten and overlooked. Deep, with multiple themes and characters, without being too artsy, it will provide us with enough matter to go for at least 3 months if we manage to keep a good reading pace. The best thing is also that it is in the public domain now, so it is pretty easy to find a cheap copy, a paperback or an e-pub version for your e-reader (translations may vary but it may not be such a tragedy, it may even add to the discussion!).

Here is a little summary of THE IDIOT taken from Wikipedia:

The title is an ironic reference to the central character of the novel, Prince Myshkin, a young man whose goodness and open-hearted simplicity lead many of the more worldly characters he encounters to mistakenly assume that he lacks intelligence and insight. In the character of Prince Myshkin, Dostoevsky set himself the task of depicting "the positively good and beautiful man". The novel examines the consequences of placing such a unique individual at the centre of the conflicts, desires, passions and egoism of worldly society, both for the man himself and for those with whom he becomes involved.

And it was of course written by this guy:

How we could proceed...

I would not dare to make it as complete as the previous bookclub did, with call sessions and all. I believe that we can manage to do it here with a few articles (even though if someone wants to review it through DTube, no problem). Here is an intent to chart how the bookclub would function, which we can amend accordingly:

  1. Every Steemian interested into participating just has to sign up by commenting on this article before January 31st;

  2. Every person has to find a version of the book in English in order to share quotes more easily (here is one for example: http://www.planetpublish.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/11/The_Idiot_NT.pdf).

  3. We will set a minimum of three chapters to read every months, which means 1 every 10 days;

  4. Each member of the bookclub will be tasked to write one article about at least one chapter;

  5. To allocate the chapters to the member, I will use a random generator website;

  6. The person who will publish an article about the chapter must follow a specified format, which can go like this: what's going on, which characters are involved, what is unclear, where are we going, and quote of the chapter (we will discuss it more in details once we'll see who is interested). First image must always be the same to keep consistency and facilitate the visibility in the feeds, but after that anyone is free to add its owns!

  7. In the end, it's up to the Steemian to write how much about "his" chapter and explore and depict it the best way he or she can... The community will add to it through the comments.

  8. If a member or non-member wants to write at any moment about an aspect of the book, feel free to do so.

  9. Any article related to the bookclub must display the following labels: bookclub steemitbookclub book theidiot review

  10. If someone can't write his/her article in the allocated time, it would be of great help to let the club know in order to find the next person available in the list.

Rewards, Comments and Upvotes

The "owner" of each chapter is free to write and publish it when (s)he wants, but it should be done after leaving time enough for anyone in the group to read it. Let's say 10 days so that everyone would be able to catch up.

Everyone is welcome to upvote and comment and I propose that all the rewards go to the person who has written the article.

Since everyone will eventually write at least one article about the book, I'm sure that there will be more rewards than needed for everyone. Of course, we could pool the rewards and share them between the participants but I'm afraid it would be awfully complicated to calculate. I'm no treasurer ๐Ÿ˜Š. If anyone has a better idea, just let me know in comments.

And remember...

That's it. That's my idea of a new bookclub for Steemit community. Calling all readers and bookworms out there! Are you ready to take up this challenge?

Sort: ย 

very original! and Dostoevskiy! a genius!
I am interested and I will be glad to participate)

Thank you @sroka87 @taliakerch @singa @hanen and
@marinauzelac ! You are officially the first members :) For the moment, just focus on finding a copy of the book. No need to start straight away but you are free to do so if you want. We will wait till next week to see who else wants to join and in the meantime I'll prepare a template for our future posts and submit it to you. All right? :)

Sure - good stuff!

I have read Idiot and Crime and Punishment quite many times. Amazing books. But Karamazovs I take next :)
If you are interested in Russian literature, then I suggest to check out Pelevin and Akunin also.

Thanks, noted! :)

Thats a great idea and I am in :)
I love reading and writing and this is a good opportunity here !

If you want to start a book club, maybe start with a more easy and shorter book ;) - That's a motherfucker to begin with.

hahaha i know XD but bookclubs are like Steemit: a maraton, rather than a sprint ^^

I know, but we could start off easier :D Dostovjevsky is pretty hard to read as well.

Actually, 1000 times easier than Joyce XD And they did a freaking bookclub about Joyce!

Why dear your flag my post

You're a fake account

Yes dear I'm jerrybanfield Fan There Very Nice Videos I make account I know it's not Good But I'm just @jerrybanfield videos upload YouTube

wow that sounds like a pretty good idea ..

This is a great idea!
I'm definitely in!

Its a good idea - i'd be happy to take part.

Maybe think about contacting some guys int he Writer's Block as well - they like books more than the average Steemian.

@thewritersblock

I'am also in! โค๏ธ

calling a friend writer @arthur.grafo

I'm not certain how this calling thing works. I did not see anything in my home pages - did you ask Cherine to call me here by telepathy? Is that what made me open your dual steem banners, with me ending up here?

It was cruel of you (to the others) bringing me here, since you know that if something can be said in one sentence or small paragraph, I take up a full page...okay, I'll take a stab at it. Is it considered bad form to resteem my own, as I like to keep a copy of everything I write.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58119.97
ETH 3054.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26