Book Club Friday's (#9) - Stone Soup

in #bookclub6 years ago

stone-soup.jpg

A little bit about the author

Marcia.JPG

Marcia Brown was an internationally renowned illustrator and author of children's books such as Stone Soup, Once a mouse, Cinderella, or the girl with the glass slipper and Dick Whittington and His Cat. Her work is known for the subtle messages that are so simple, yet so very effective. Each book has an important message for children and adults alike.

A little bit about the book

Travellers pass through a village and are in need of some help. With them, they carry a cooking pot but nothing else and thus need ingredients to put into the pot. They ask but nobody provides, everyone keeps themselves to themselves in their own private lives and fortunes and refuse to share. The travellers then decide to start a fire and place a single stone in the pot. This sparks one person's interest, and another, and then another person comes to find out what the commotion is. The travellers ask for a single ingredient and everyone ends up obliging, creating the most incredible soup they have ever tasted.

IMG-8911.JPG

The message behind the story is that sharing is best. We get sheer satisfaction from giving and not taking and it is important to meditate on this fact. Also, the feeling of togetherness should also be highlighted. Being a part of something bigger than yourself, and your contribution seeps endless rewards.

IMG-8913.JPG

Have a wonderful weekend,

Adam x


Buy the book

Amazon
Waterstones
Barnes & Noble


Other Book club Friday posts

Tales of Modern Russia
How brands grow
Born a crime

Sort:  

Hello Adam,
Just checking in on you, not sure if you remember me or not , but I told you I would check in. Looks like you have been keeping up with the ambitious schedule you laid out for yourself for the most part.
I see you are also working the "introduceyourself" posts and welcoming new people, I commend you for that, be sure and go back and check on them in the future if you are not following them on a regular basis. You may have some valuable insight that can help them at a point when they made need a boost.
I'm not a big book guy, not into fiction and such so you won't find as a regular on your book club. That doesn't mean I'm not interested in you succeeding, or I wouldn't be back here checking on you.
I haven't looked to see how big the book club scene is here on steemit but I did read a couple of your reviews and your writing skills are good.
You might want to join a couple writing groups and use the curation opportunities along with the posting of your book club reviews as way to help grow your following. @thesteemengine is a place you might want to look at or other similiar groups. The @thesteemengine is big on member engagement through the comments on posts, I've read some of your comments also, and your comments are very good and would be well accepted in that group.
Check it out and come see me if I can help you in any way,
@sultnpapper

Hey @sultnpapper,

Your checking-in is much appreciated, I'm so happy to receive a message from you thank-you!

I need to improve on connecting with others on Steemit because I find that I am just posting and not adding anything else to the community, I'm just struggling for time at the moment! But I plan to make time each week to do such a thing.

Thanks so much again for your mentorship on Steemit! Let me know if I can help you in any way and I will happily consider!

Hope to hear from you again soon,

Adam

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58157.69
ETH 3122.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42